Sea Blue Lens

On Our Walk

7 Comments

My daughter and I are in the middle of a week-long vacation. Last night it rained. This morning the wet earth and trees smelled like I imagine Heaven will. The mountains were wrapped in tendrils of fog and clouds.

By late morning, the overcast grey skies had transformed into deep blue scattered with shining white drifts of cloud. We set out for a walk.

We passed through this gate…

and came upon a pond.

As we walked around it, these are some of the things we found:

Some interesting trees to identify later

A beaver lodge (missing from the picture: the great blue heron that flew away as we approached)

Black-Eyed Susans everywhere

The tiniest frog EVER

A beautiful feather, downy and soft

My favorite view of the pond

The circle complete, we went back to our temporary home away from home for lunch and a well-earned nap.

7 thoughts on “On Our Walk

  1. beautiful vacation, lucky you!

  2. Wow, amazing photos, I particularly love the shots of the low lying cloud and the path through the woods.
    Thank you for your comment on my blog. Very happy to invite you to pinterest but I need your email to do it. Can you email me at catchingsundust@gmail.com?
    Thanks and loving your photos!
    Becsx

  3. What a fabulous-looking walk! Wish I had been there! Did you identify the interesting trees and the adorable frog yet? Inquiring minds want to know!

    • Well, I tried. The first tree I think is an Eastern Hop Hornbeam, a member of the Birch family. I haven’t yet figured out the one with the berries; I’ll have to look that one up when I get home (unless anyone recognizes it here and can help out!). I believe the frog is a brand new baby Northern Leopard Frog. That’s my best guess from the photos and info I could find on the Internet. Its Latin name is Rana pipiens, which for some reason pleases me very much. And yes, I realize I’m a total geek! 🙂

  4. Really cool. I love the little frog and I have the feather now! Did you figure out what the mystery berries are?

  5. Followup: I believe the mysterious berries are Glossy Buckthorn. Although the berries are pretty, it’s a European species that is considered highly invasive here. More info at: http://www.invasive.org/weedcd/species/5649.htm

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

