Sea Blue Lens

Self Images

10 Comments

Self Image
This image is one of my favorite “self portraits.” It was taken in the evening on a late spring day, Mother’s Day, in fact, a few years ago.

This photograph says a great deal about me.

I had already spent the earlier part of the day with my daughter and her boyfriend, and had been taken out for a lovely brunch. I love my kids and love being with them. But the late afternoon found me wanting and needing to seek solitude and enjoy the last of the beautiful spring sunshine by myself, just me and my camera, alone in my favorite place.

The beach that is so crowded with vacationers during the summer was nearly deserted, except for one or two locals and their dogs. The water was calm and the breeze was light.

And so I walked, and took pictures of . . . nothing exceptional. And this one of myself. Notice the lightness of the bare footprint at the bottom. That’s mine. Notice the lightness even of the shadow. The light-colored blur across the middle is actually a few strands of my hair blowing across the lens.

This is how I see myself: traveling lightly through this world, leaving not much of a mark behind, not even footprints. Even my shadow is quiet. I like it that way.

This post is in response to a Find Your Eye lesson in which we were to choose a photograph and then write “intuitively” about it in our photo journal.

10 thoughts on “Self Images

  1. Oh, how lovely! That’s a great self portrait, especially when you explain the context. I admire people who can travel lightly. I am also a lover of the seaside.
    p.s. Now I understand your blog name a little better.

  2. This is a really nice image and reflection. I enjoyed reading it.

  3. Lee,
    I completely understand your desire for solitude. For me, photography has always been a kind of meditation; a quiet time in my own head.

    This image is so beautiful and expressive of your words – of treading lightly through the world. You have captured such a beautiful moment of you, your camera and the sea.

  4. How wonderful to learn this about you, through image and words. I love the light and wispy feeling you’ve evoked. You may be traveling lightly and quietly, but you are sharing the journey here with others and that is a great gift to us. Thank you!

  5. Such a beautiful photo and I love your words. So peaceful and calm. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  6. I have to agree with the comments already made. I enjoyed this portrait of you.

  7. Good heavens, woman! How on earth do you find pants that fit? Those legs really DO go all the way up! 🙂

    And I’d say you ARE traveling pretty lightly – your shadow seems to have ditched your body entirely. 🙂

  8. I love this beautiful shadow image! What beautiful thoughts that echo some of mine. I, too, love the solitude of just me and my camera! Thanks for sharing yourself with us! X

  9. Beautiful! I am in love with your description of yourself through this photo. So beautiful. This post actually made me feel more at ease and lighter! Haha. Simply lovely. 🙂

  10. Thank you for sharing this photo and the story that goes with it–so very peaceful and tranquil. How wonderful that you are achieving your goal of traveling lightly through the world.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

