Sea Blue Lens

About the Equipment

8 Comments

Columbus Day Weekend, Ocean Park, Maine

In my last post, I said, “Sometimes it is about the equipment.” One of the direct outcomes of the Find Your Eye classes I’ve been taking is that I have just purchased my first digital SLR.

Just to cut to the chase, I’d like to say…Whoo hoo!!!

A little history

My first SLR was a hand-me-down Nikkormat. In the mid-70’s I bought a Pentax ME, which I adored for its compact size that fit my hands and my style perfectly. By the end of the 80’s, some vision changes meant that I was missing a lot of shots because I couldn’t focus properly, so I bought a Nikon N8008 autofocus SLR. It was an awesome camera, and I still have it, though I haven’t used it in at least ten years.

In the late 90’s, I discovered the compact, autofocus point-and-shoot. The sweet little Minolta I got was small enough to slip into my purse, and took brilliant photos. The bag full of heavy Nikon equipment slipped to the back of the closet, while the little Minolta went to England with me three times. (I’ll be happy to show you my picture of Her Majesty!)

In 2003, I discovered the delights of digital with a tiny Canon Digital Elph. What an amazing camera! It took great photos in almost any light, and it had an actual viewfinder along with its little LCD screen. I wore it out — one sad day it simply would no longer record images.

Next came a Canon Powershot S2 IS. I loved the 10X optical zoom and other features, and it, too, had a viewfinder as well as a swiveling LCD screen. But it was too bulky and heavy to slip into a purse. To fulfill that need, last January I got a Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7. Wow! Leica lens, 25mm wide angle, 12X zoom…all in a camera about the size of a pack of cigarettes (not that I’ve ever carried around packs of cigarettes, but you know what I mean).

The Panasonic is the camera I’ve been using for the photo assignments for these Find Your Eye classes. I love the size and capabilities of that camera. But there were times when I became very frustrated because I simply couldn’t make it do what I wanted it to. I couldn’t control depth of field because the apertures are so limited. Many photos were very contrasty, with bright areas blowing out even if I deliberately underexposed the image.

Worst of all, in common with the latest generation of compact digital cameras, it has no viewfinder, only an LCD screen. The LCD is large and very bright and works just great in low light situations. But since I do most of my photography outdoors in bright sunlight, I was often literally working blind, having to just guess if my subject was where I wanted it in the frame, and if the camera was focused on the right target.

The happy ending to this long story

I did some research and, to make a long story short, decided on a Nikon D5100 with 18-55mm zoom lens. I got it just before my vacation, and if you can believe it, decided NOT to take it with me. I was traveling light. This past weekend, we had a glorious burst of Indian Summer, and I finally got into the field with my new baby. I am in love! I’d forgotten how wonderful it is to use a truly fine camera. Unfortunately, I’ve also forgotten much that I used to know about the technical side of photography with an SLR! So far I’m still on Auto, but we’re slowly getting acquainted.

Sunday, I took the Nikon and the Panasonic to the beach and took some identical shots with both, just to see how the images would differ. I honestly didn’t know what to expect. I am more than pleased with the results. The Nikon images are richer in color, with more subtle gradations in tone, and much smoother and finer in detail. Did I mention that I’m in love with my new camera?

I was trying to explain the difference to my sister, who is not a photographer, telling her that I didn’t know what I had been missing. I knew she “got it” when she likened it to a person with poor eyesight getting their first pair of glasses, something we both know well. Yes! That’s exactly it. The world looks a lot different through my new lens.

Here’s a little sample, SOOC (except for a little cropping in the side-by-side):

Left: Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7. Right: Nikon D5100

Taken with Lumix DMC-ZS7

Taken with Nikon D5100

The fine print

I want to emphasize that nowhere in her wonderful blog or her classes does Kat encourage her students to run out and invest in expensive cameras or any other equipment. In fact, she emphasizes that it’s not about your camera, and that whatever camera you have right now will work just fine. As we’ve all heard many times before, it’s not the camera, it’s the photographer who makes the image. Just like it’s not the paint, but the painter who produces the masterpiece.

I’ve learned a lot using the camera I had, and I’ll continue to use that camera. But one of the things I’ve gotten from this class is a desire, and a commitment to myself, to do more with my photography — not in the sense of going pro or any such thing, but simply for my own pleasure and satisfaction. For me, it reached the point where it really was about the equipment.

I am so ready for this.

 

8 thoughts on “About the Equipment

  1. How exciting for you! I like to take photographs with both my dslr and my point and shoot (Canon G12) and compare as well. It is fun to stretch your abilities and push the equipment to see what it can do and which you like better! Have fun!

  2. WooHoo!!! Congrats on the new baby!!! It’s interesting to see how different cameras render color. contrast etc. Your photos of the beach in Maine only strengthens my desire to move there. Blue Hill or Brooklin area would do.

  3. Congrats to you!! I did the same thing after I began to take photography a little more serious. I was gettting great shots, expecially macro, with my little point and shoot, but I wanted more!! Hope you love your new camera as much as I’m loving mine!! (I went with a Sony A55 – 18-55 zoom lens)
    And a special thanks for your kind words on my blog! You will never know just how much they touched me.

  4. Lee,
    I loved following your camera history and your decision to upgrade to a DSLR. I look forward to seeing your progression as you learn the in-and-outs of your new equipment. How exciting! We all deserve to have the equipment that will help us reach our full creative potential

  5. well hello Sea Blue Lens, it’s very nice to meet you. thanks for stopping by my blog to say hello. we have something in common – I recently purchased my first dslr too, after using a Sony Cybershot for years. I really got my money’s worth from that camera and although I love my new camera and wouldn’t give it up, there are days when I miss the Cybershot. I took Kat’s class last year and had only my point and shoot and it was during that class that I knew I wanted and needed more in a camera. I got a Nikon too, and love it. I spent almost a year researching, asking questions, talking to salespeople, etc. in making my decision. after finally making my choice between Nikon and Canon, I then had to decide on what model! it was almost as bad as buying a car. I look forward to watching your progress, and I do agree with you, sometimes it IS the equipment! it doesn’t necessarily guarantee a great photo, but it surely does make the attempt a lot more fun! happy day to you.

  6. I can totally relate, Lee. I used my Canon Elph for almost four years and it took great photos! But, like you, I got frustrated with its limitations and decided last winter to splurge and get Canon digital SLR Rebel. I noticed the difference immediately, but it took two photo classes before I got really comfortable with the manual settings. The downside is the bulk — I took it to Hawaii a few months back, and it filled up half my suitcase — luckily I only needed a bathsuit and a few casual outfits.

    There is a definite difference in your side by side shots…..interesting how the color changes. Enjoy your new camera!

  7. How exciting that you have a new camera. I can tell, just from the detail you provided about your previous cameras, how much you love photography and that you’ve used each of your cameras to their fullest capabilities. I’m sure you will do the same with your new camera. Happy shooting!

  8. OOooh so delightful!!!!!! Congrats – I love your passion for the cameras themselves.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

