Sea Blue Lens

Above It All

3 Comments

Early morning sun on Scarborough Marsh

A month ago, I flew from Maine to California to spend a couple of weeks visiting with family. I don’t fly often, but when I do, I always get a window seat if possible. I just can’t get over the views, not to mention the fact that I’m looking at them while flying. Through the air. In an enormous, very heavy machine. You can talk to me all day about aerodynamics, but to me it’s still magic.

Speaking of unexplained things . . . does anyone know what this is? Seriously. I have no idea and I’m really curious.

Is it an alien community?

A closer look.

And closer still. The dark splotches are cloud shadows.

This country is so vast and so varied as it rolls past beneath the plane. My great-grandparents traveled west by covered wagon on the Oregon Trail. It took them months to get there. How amazing is it that now we can fly coast to coast in just a few hours?

Here’s my favorite aerial image of the trip:

Crop Circles!

I didn’t actually spend the entire flight gazing out the window. I also love flying because it’s a wonderful opportunity to read undisturbed for hours, and I took full advantage of it. After all, it’s not like there’s anything else I should be doing.

And when I arrived at LAX, I was greeted by these cheerful smiles at the parking garage.

Happy to see me?

I don’t know what they are, but they made me laugh. Drains or lights or whatever they may be, whoever designed them was clearly having some fun.  And so was I!

.

3 thoughts on “Above It All

  1. I love looking out the airplane window too….especially as we take off and fly low over the land. I have no idea what those lines are in your photos….where were you? Enjoy your trip!

  2. No idea what those things are…I think you are right about an alien community…sure looks alien to me!!!

  3. I think flying is amazing too! Nice to be greeted by smiles!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

