Sea Blue Lens

A Matter of Perspective

6 Comments

I learned something today. A few days ago, Brenda, one of my fellow students in Kat Sloma’s great Find Your Eye e-courses, wrote a blog post about correcting perspective distortion using Photoshop. I commented on my disappointment when I realized she was using Photoshop features that my Photoshop Elements doesn’t have.

This morning she replied with a link to a simple online tutorial explaining how to do the same thing in Elements. So I tried it.

Now, I’ve been a pretty sophisticated and advanced user of word processing software for longer than I care to think about. But when it comes to image processing, I’m like those people who line up text using the space bar because they don’t know how to set tabs. This morning’s experience sure proved that. I need to spend some time with a good instruction book and my PS Elements and get to know it a whole lot better.

Guess what? Photoshop Elements has a grid that can be superimposed over my photo while I’m editing it, to help with lining things up vertically and/or horizontally. Did you know that? I didn’t know that. How could I have not known something so basic?

Anyway, here are the results of a couple of experiments using the grid and PSE’s Image-Transform-Distort function.

Straight out of the camera

Adjusted to compensate for lens tilt

As taken, except for some foreground cropping

Adjusted image

So, what do you think? Does correcting the perspective improve the pictures?

I really had fun playing around with this. And that grid thing? Totally awesome! There’s even a keyboard shortcut to toggle it on and off.

Thanks, Brenda!

.

6 thoughts on “A Matter of Perspective

  1. Yippee! I am so glad to have pointed you in the right direction! I really hated being the one to originally disappoint you when my post provided a solution that didn’t work in Elements.

    And yes, I simply adore your newly-straightened horizontals and verticals.
    Now you need to get out there and shoot lots of architecture! Perspective distortion – no longer a problem.

    (And don’t beat yourself up – I didn’t know the Crop Tool could correct perspective distorion until I read an online tutorial on the subject. I doubt that I am using 1/10th of Photoshop’s capabilities)

    • Funny you should say that about shooting lots of architecture. Once upon a time (long long ago in a galaxy far far away) I had a fairly serious interest in architectural photography. I was too shy to ever go for it professionally, but I loved trying to capture the spirit of buildings in light and shadow, curves and angles. I hadn’t thought of it until now, but maybe that’s why your work speaks to me even though it’s so very different from mine. (Nature and landscape photography have always been my primary focus, pardon the pun.)

  2. Looks great! I didn’t know about the grid thing either, you’ll have to show me! đŸ™‚

  3. Wonderful! It’s so fun to learn how to fix our problems. I’m fairly new to PS Elements too. I did come across a tutorial on this but didn’t spend enough time with it to remember, will go back and give it another shot. Brenda is quite helpful and inspirational.

    • Yes, she’s very knowledgeable and willing to share. I’ve learned a lot from her. In fact, I’ve learned a lot from everyone in these classes. That’s one of the best things about them!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

