Sea Blue Lens

Duet

11 Comments

Last Saturday morning I had the privilege of getting together with a fellow blogger and student of Kat Sloma’s wonderful Find Your Eye photography e-courses. With participants in the class from across the United States and across the world, I got so lucky as to find one practically across the street. Well, OK, not quite that close. But only a few minutes away.

So before the crack of dawn last Saturday, and before the sky clouded up to deliver the infamous October snow, I drove to a spot by the ocean to meet up with Susan of Happy No Ears fame. Turns out she is just as fun and funny as you would guess from reading her blog. She’s also very persuasive, because leaving the house when it’s still dark on a Saturday morning is not a normal part of my weekend routine. Now I can see I may have to change that.

The morning was chilly but beautiful and I found myself wide awake and excited as we headed for the beach, cameras in hand. We photographed the sunrise over the ocean, and as the sun rose higher, went into the village center to see what else we could find bathed in that lovely morning light.

Sunrise Silhouette

Morning Twilight

Leaves

Sun Gilt

Bluegreengold

Quiet Morning

Stone Fence

Two by Two

Porch Light

Who, Me?

A couple of hours flew by — at least I think it was a couple of hours; I lost track of time. Tired and hungry, we adjourned to a local cafe that, as it turned out, is a favorite breakfast spot of both of ours. There we discussed such deep subjects as cameras, photography, the meaning of life . . . well, maybe not that last one so much, though actually we might have touched on it.

All in all, it was a great way to spend a Saturday morning. Like so many of us, I normally pursue my photography alone, and it was a rare treat to be able to share it with a kindred spirit. Thanks, Susan! I’m looking forward to next time.

For anyone who’s interested, I’ve uploaded these images and others from this photo shoot to Flickr.

.

11 thoughts on “Duet

  1. How fun! I can imagine the good time you had together. And all these photos are so beautifully done. I’ll look forward to seeing results from your ‘next time’ !

  2. Okay – I see what you two are doing. You are ganging up together to convince me that I need to shoot during the magic “golden hour”. Well, I must say it is (almost) working – “Sun Gilt”, with that golden light on the rocks, that is simply gorgeous.

    But I see you did get in one shadow photo – love that close-up of the porch light!

    What an amazing experience – that you were able to share this together. And figure out the meaning of life, all in one morning!

    • Brenda, you’re right, it’s a conspiracy! I highly recommend you try it. Sunrise photography is definitely out of my comfort zone, but it was totally worth getting up and out early. It really was a great experience all around.

  3. How wonderful that you were able to connect through this class and were able to meet. It looks like you had a a very special morning and live in a very beautiful place. Each picture was truly lovely.

  4. wow what a beautiful area you live in i love being near the water, unfortunately i live on a mountain no water here ha ha so fabulous you met someone taking Kat’s course nearby what a treat.

  5. How wonderful- these are really lovely shots.

  6. These are beautiful! You’re really getting good as you go along! 🙂

  7. Super photos Lee, it’s hard to pick a favorite although I am leaning towards two by two and quiet morning!

  8. I like : “Sun Gilt” and “Quiet Morning”!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

