Sea Blue Lens

Inside Out

23 Comments

For the final assignment in our Find Your Eye course, Kat asked us to look over our work and put together the beginning of a series of photographs that were related in some way. My friend Susan posted a wonderful series of window photographs in response, and in a comment I teased her about stealing my idea.

She really didn’t know that I was already planning to “do windows” myself. And when I actually started gathering my window photos together, I realized that they are from a different point of view from most of Susan’s. So here is my own take on windows, from the inside out.

I love windows. They connect me with the outdoors, even if I can’t be outdoors. The first thing I do in the morning is throw open the curtains to let in as much light as possible, and if the weather permits, I open the windows, too.

I love the play of light and shadow, and the way the sunlight filters through these curtains.

Faded Curtain

I like the soft illumination of north light on this collection of objects in an antiques shop window. We always feel like we’re not quite alone when we go into this room, even though we can’t see anyone else there.

Olden Days

I love the sparkle of sunlight on these panes, and the pattern of sun and shade on the old trunk below this beautiful window.

Twelve Over Eight

This window at old Fort Popham sparks my imagination.

Keeping Watch

This gorgeous view is from the garage (formerly the carriage house) at the circa 1807 house my daughter lives in.

Framing Autumn

I wonder who lives in that old red house? I wish I could see inside it, and take pictures of the pond from those windows.

Mill Pond

Imagine gazing out this window, your back warmed by the sun, chatting with a friend and lingering over tea on a cold winter’s afternoon.

At the Tea House

This window at a shop in an old barn is always filled with quirky odds and ends, fun to look at while enjoying the loveliness outside at the same time.

Blue Moose

I love the arched frame and blue trim on these windows upstairs at a potter’s studio in Eastport, Maine, and the whimsical little whirlygig placed to catch a breeze.

From the Potter’s Workshop

No curtains on this window, but sails for the sunlight to shine through. I don’t know this lady, but she looks so comfortable and content sitting there with her Sunday paper. I’d like to join her.

Sunday Morning

This was a fun assignment. In looking for a series to do, I found several themes among my photographic archives that are already well on their way to being series of their own. I’ve just never before thought of pulling them together in one place. I’ll be working on that!

I have a bonus lesson, a summing up, to finish this class, but that will be a subject for another day.

.

23 thoughts on “Inside Out

  1. I totally love your window series and all your thoughts that you included here! It is fun to go back and discover these series, isn’t it? I’m intrigued by that second photo, by the idea that you never feel alone when in that room. And “Framing Autumn” is just stunning!

    • Thank you, Deb. I grew up in a place with a very short history. One of the things I love about living in New England is the sense of history here. I like to think about all the people who have lived here, the hands that have touched those walls and windows and objects. Sometimes there seems to be a remnant of something less tangible that lingers…not a creepy or scary feeling, just an interesting one.

  2. Lee, What a beautiful series! Each one of your windows so incredibly distinct,, evoking a different emotion and telling a different story. I especially love the light you’ve captured in ‘Faded Curtains’ – so soft. And, Framing Autumn is gorgeous. It’s been such a pleasure being in Kat’s class with you, Lee. Looking forward to seeing more of your ‘eye’ in the future! 🙂

  3. This is a wonderful series you put together. Each photo evokes a different mood and the descriptives fit perfectly.

  4. Oh, this is just fascinating!! The first ne leaves me breathless and the shadows on the trunk are fantastic!! Every one of them is stunning. My imagination is soring with wonderful stories these windows could tell!!

  5. Lee,
    Inside-out – I love your unique viewpoint! The peering out into the world, with the window as frame. There is something so personal and emotional from this perspective – you see the treasured objects, the lovely shapes, the shadowed interior, the gorgeous light – a tiny microcosm of the wider world. This is a wonderful series, with such variety and yet, a common theme. My favorite is “Twelve over Eight” – those shadows and the shapes made by the panes – really stunning.

    • Brenda, perhaps this is the introvert’s view! It’s funny that I think of myself as primarily a nature and landscape photographer, yet this was the first thing that came to my mind as I thought of a series. Your description is perfect…that’s exactly what draws me to these windows.

  6. What a fabulous perspective Lee! I love that title, Inside Out. You have captured so much emotion and feeling this way. I’m amazed at how many images you have like this, it just goes to show it’s a natural series for you. I love “Twelve over Eight” and “Framing Autumn” – something about those small panes really appeals to me. Lovely series and post. I can’t wait to see what you add to these in the future!

    • Kat, I was surprised, too, at how many of these I have. And this is only a sampling. Now that I’ve started, I can’t wait to gather more. It’s funny how they seem to change somehow and take on more significance for me when I see them collected together like this. Thank you for the great lesson!

  7. Lovely post. I am also very keen on windows. My last lot were taken from the outside in France and Vienna. The more you look, the more you see!

    • Hi Lynne! I like the outside of windows and take photos of those, too. I’d love to see some of your from France and Vienna. I’ve never visited either place but would love to. Thanks for stopping by here. I hope you’ll come back!

  8. That is a lovely series of window photographs. Such a varied range of different modes and moods. My favourite would be the two first and and the fifth with the view to the autumn yellow tree. The last one has beautiful colours and all three very nice lighting. I really like the way the these pictures makes my mind wander. Makes me reconnect with old memories or feelings.

  9. Really interesting set, LOVE that golden tree!

  10. What a wonderful series of images. I like the first one so much! I’m a door person, but now you showed me a new way to photograph, looking out instead of wondering what’s behind the door. Thanks for the inspiration. Have a great weekend!

  11. Wow, what a great collection. I love the first one and autumn framed. Gorgeous. I’ve recently started experimenting a bit with windows, I love the feeling that you’re looking in (or out) at something. Great inspiration, thank you for sharing. 🙂

  12. Wow – great images! I think this is a fantastic series you’ve chosen. All of your images are just lovely!

  13. These are wonderful. I like Twelve over Eight and Framing Autumn
    best. I’m just so far behind, still.

  14. Beautiful window photos. Love them all. Kat’s classes are so great! Thanks for coming by today………x

  15. A very delighting post. The photos are awesome. I’m particularly attached to the 1st, 3rd & 5th window shots…

  16. What a wonderful series–each new window scene was better than the one before it! Everytime I scrolled to the next one, I’d say “oh, that’s my favorite,” except then I’d scroll to the next one and repeat myself. Long story short, they’re all beautiful and show your unique perspective on the world. Congrats on finishing Kat’s class–I didn’t do very well keeping up with this last one but hope to finish it up in self-paced manner.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

