Sea Blue Lens

Thawing Out

26 Comments

Thanksgiving Blooms

Despite our continuing unseasonably warm weather, I have been rather frozen in place, wondering how to carry on here. I started this blog as a photo journal for an online photography class I was taking. I finished the last lesson a couple of weeks ago, and now I’m wondering, “What’s next?” What shall I do here now that I no longer have twice-weekly assignments to photograph and write about?

Our final bonus lesson for our Journey of Inspiration was the same as after the Journey of Recognition: to look over our Inspiration File (a collection of our own best/favorite photographs), reread our photo journal entries, and assess what we have gained from the class.

I loved these classes. They have brought me back to photography in a whole new way and have rekindled a new interest in my old love. In the pursuit of that interest, I’ve bought a new “serious” camera for the first time in years — my first dSLR. I’ve updated my Photoshop Elements software and dipped my toe ever so gently into the world of post-processing. And I recently found a good enough deal on Lightroom that I added that to my photographic arsenal as well.

Now, what am I going to do with all of this? First of all, try not to become overwhelmed by having so many new things to learn at once! Spend a little time each day on one thing at a time, taking it step by step. Remind myself that it takes practice to master anything new.

One of the most surprising things I discovered from my Find Your Eye classes is how much I enjoyed writing this blog. Thinking about my photos, about the process of taking them, about art and creativity; combining my words with my pictures here on this virtual page; and then clicking “Publish” so other people could read them … all that has been more rewarding and more fun than I ever imagined.

It’s not easy for an extremely introverted person to put herself “out there” for the world to see. I’ve been warmed by the positive responses not only of my classmates but total strangers who have somehow found their way here. When I despair over all the terrible things the news media stream at us daily, I can visit the blogs of new friends from the next town or across the globe and see the world through their eyes. The desire to seek and create beauty and meaning with our cameras links us into a community that transcends politics, geography, race, religion, education, occupation, or whatever else so often divides people. Despite our differences, we have a connection. This gives me hope and brings me joy.

I don’t know where this blog is going. Perhaps a direction will show itself in the future, but for now, it will simply continue to be my photo journal. I have a lot of ideas for my own self-assignments, and there were a number of class assignments that I’d like to do again, or take further. I also have a lot of things on my mind as I contemplate life changes in the not too distant future.

I hope we can stay in touch, my new friends!

Kat Sloma will be offering her Find Your Eye classes again beginning in January. She calls them “photo classes with heart and soul,” and they truly are that! I highly recommend them, as well as her lovely blog, The Kat Eye View of the World, where she shares inspiring thoughts and helpful tutorials … not to mention her own beautiful images.

.

26 thoughts on “Thawing Out

  1. my oh gosh – you should start participating in Scavenger Hunt Sunday. You can read about it here! http://www.ashleysisk.com/search/label/Scavenger%20Hunt
    You have a whole week to scavenge for pictures – I love it! it really keeps me looking for various picture opportunities & I find great examples of photos from others who participate. You can also check my blog and search for my Scavenger Hunt Sunday posts.
    I loved Kat’s class…

  2. oh – and thanks for dropping by my blog to share your Christmas memory.
    oops! I just realized you MUST participate in Scavenger Hunt Sunday because you found my blog!

    • I haven’t done Scavenger Hunt Sunday yet but have been thinking about it. It looks like fun and people come up with some great interpretations of the prompts.
      I found your blog through FYE-Starting the Journey back in July and have been following it since. I used to live in CA and love the area where you are. I really enjoy seeing your photos of familiar places!

  3. I have certainly enjoyed your blog and hope you will continue. But I understand that it is something that has to come from you, that in time you’ll know what you need. I’m so grateful that Kat’s class helped us all to connect! What a great experience! Have fun with your camera and whatever photo prompts you can find.

  4. What a gorgeous image. Perhaps you can think of this class ‘ending’..as your ‘beginning’???

  5. I completely understand your delight in discovering how much you enjoyed writing for your blog – that is something that came as a huge surprise to me as well. I hope you will continue to share your journey here with us – following along has made my own life richer. You have become part of my virtual community.

    It can certainly be overwhelming to have so many new tools in your creative toolbox. But I think you have the right approach – to take one small step every day. It will be the accumulation of those steps that will move your forward. I look forward to seeing where this takes you.

  6. I’m not sure how I met you but it doesn’t matter I’m simply happy that I did. It’s my hope that you’ll continue this photo-journal in whatever manner meets your desires. Like anything in life, it unfolds and then takes on a life of its own. You’ve given birth to something wonderful. happy day to you.

  7. Wow! Great shot of the x-mas cactus… I saw the exif data from your shot, that looks so crisp for ISO-1600!

  8. Wonderful shot here. Detailed yet soft. Very nice.

  9. Hi Lee, …a super photo of the Christmas cactus! Life is a journey and so is the craft of photography. Take things one step at a time, learn from others and from past experiences, read and ask questions. But most important of all…try not to over anaylize things to much … just go out and play!!!

  10. Oops hit post comment too early…meant to say “analyze”

  11. Such a lovely post Lee! At the beginning of the classes I thought about calling them “Find Your Eye, Find Yourself” but I didn’t think anyone would buy it. πŸ™‚ I know as you keep on looking, capturing and writing and you will find more than enough to fill this blog. In my experience, it just seems to come as you stick with the process. It has been so wonderful to get to know you through the classes, and I know we’ll keep in touch beyond. Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation – I so appreciate it!

  12. What a beautiful summary of our class! I enjoy your posts and your photos. I hope you’ll find how you want to continue your photography and share that with us!! I would love to hear some of your ideas for photo assignments!!

  13. Lee, what a beautiful photograph, and what a beautiful message. I’m very touched by what you say, and have so enjoyed being in Kat’s class with you. I look forward to staying in touch. I truly appreciate this wonderful community of people who, as you put it so beautifully, ‘desire to seek and create beauty and meaning through our cameras.’ Thanks, Lee!

  14. Lee, I’m so glad that you have this blog here and I love your photos. I remember in the beginning when you commented on my blog posts I got so frustrated when I couldn’t find you to reply to your wonderful and kind comments. I’m glad that you are here in your place, and I love the way you write. To me it sounds very honest and from your heart.

  15. Hi,
    I was in Kat’s class with you and stopped by our FlickR site to see what I had been missing. I loved reading your post and seeing your beautiful picture. I have been blogging for two years and it has opened up a whole new world. Joining Kat’s classes has been icing on the cake. I would love to learn more about the assignments you have been thinking about creating for yourself. That is a great idea. I will be back often to visit.

  16. You’ve started a wonderful journey and I love this blogging so we can share our journey with others. The support is amazing!
    Don’t get too caught-up in the technicals and details of capturing and processing. Just go out and enjoy. Get caught up in the moment with your vision. Then come back here and show and tell us about your experience. Your photo journal will live and breath its own life, manifested through your vision.

  17. I will be looking forward to seeing more of your photos. I’m so glad you like to share them! I have been blogging for three years and have made the most wonderful connections with other creative souls. It is a special community. Gorgeous thanksgiving blooms!

  18. YOU’RE the Lee Susan went photo-hunting with? oh my word! how cool is that? when I read on her blog this morning that she was meeting a fellow blogger I felt a pang of envy – which seriously is very unusual for me. I try not to allow myself to want much of anything, having learned that it all slips through our fingers eventually anyway! I so wished it could have been me! knowing now that it was someone I newly admire…well that is just the cat’s meow I tell you. you are so lucky to be near Susan. I think she’s one of the coolest people I’ve met in the blogging world, she’s just a fave. I look forward to seeing photos from your walk. thanks for saying hello and making my night. this just makes me feel really good. happy evening to you Lee. (sorry for putting this in comment box…you need to put your contact/email on the page!). or did I miss it?

  19. So pleased you’ll be continuing your blog and look forward to sharing your journey with you. I loved Kat’s classes too and have made such great connections through them. I don’t think there can be too much beauty seeking in the world and I love seeing everyone’s interpretations and insights. I’m so grateful to be part of such a fabulous creative (and global!) community. πŸ™‚

  20. That’s how I feel about my blog as well. I am still working towards finishing up some prompts from Kat’s Journey courses, and in due time perhaps my blog will change as well, but for now I hope that you keep up the good journaling work here on this “photo journal” blog. πŸ™‚

  21. Such a pretty image. Glad you’re enjoying blogging, I’ll look forward to visiting..

  22. Another lovely picture from you. So delicate and almost fragile with beautiful colours. What next? Maybe start to fly on your own? Do your own assignments – as you write yourself? I sure hope you will continue this blog. It’s been wonderful to follow you.

  23. You’ve captured the heart of blogging in this post. It seems somehow that sharing thoughts and ideas with others makes them more real, more substantial than they are when we keep them to ourselves. Your heart (and your lens) will show you the way, and the words will follow.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

