Sea Blue Lens

Small Things

16 Comments

Buds SOOC

One of the things I love most about photography is how it shows me things I can’t see with my own two eyes.  The image above was taken on my Laudholm Farm photo walk last week. My eye was drawn to this little cluster of buds because they seemed so out of place. This is Maine. It’s December. Tender flower buds are normally a distant memory by now, not to be seen again until spring, many months away.

But here they were, on the tip of a branch of an otherwise bare shrub. Tiny, maybe 3/8 of an inch long. So I snapped their picture, to record their bravery and to help myself remember this warmer-than-usual fall and early winter.

It was only after I got home and looked at the photo on my computer screen that I said, “Wait. What is that?”

I magnify, zoom in, and discover:  tiny globes of water, melted frost, perfectly poised on the tips of the buds.

Winter Buds

That is what I love about photography.

[Note: This image is simply cropped from the one above. No other post-processing was done.]

.

16 thoughts on “Small Things

  1. Wow what a great surprise!!!

  2. Really lovely shot. I totally agree about photography helping you to see what you normally wouldn’t. Nothing better than a good photo-walk!

  3. Oh, yes – the joy of finding the unseen, captured by your lens. There isn’t anything better, is there? Really amazing shot.

  4. To me, this picture is a work of art. I love the blurred background and the buds are simply beautiful. What a capture! I didn’t notice those little waterdrops until you mentioned them. They’re just sitting there, how cool.

  5. Fabulous shots. We have the same thing here at the minute – cold but I have a some very cold and frosty roses in flower!
    I find the same thing with photography and it’s one of the things I really love about it.

  6. Wonderful! As I read the first paragraph, I wondered..”Did she pick it? I would pick it. Did she? ” and so you did! But, what a simply delightful surprise…the little globes of water are just perfect. Yes, December lessons, indeed!

  7. An awesome shot of the buds but that yellow Greek Revival just has my imagination running wild imagining the inside.

  8. You’re really capitalizing on the combination of camera and editing in this post. Love the detail in the enlarged image!

    P.S. It’s been almost a month since I’ve been out with my camera–you’ve given me an itchy trigger finger!

  9. A beautiful shot, particularly the zoomed in photograph. And it’s fun to read how you discover those small details. Photography is indeed fun on many levels.

  10. that is the beauty of digital photography – you get home and look at the image on your computer and there’s that surprise that makes you exclaim “wow”! this shot is perfect in composition. it soars.

  11. what stunning photographs Lee!
    It is so lovely to meet you my new “friend” in Maine! We adore Maine and get over as often as we can. Something so very special about it. I thank you so much for leaving your “calling card” and for your very sweet note.
    Merry Christmas to you!
    joan

  12. Hi Lee, stopping by to wish you the merriest of holidays. I hope you have an enjoyable time with family and friends, and the best new year ever! (I am actually opposed to the use of textures and never ever use them. They just aren’t me, but I made an exception for the holiday. I think the photos turned out alright, but I still don’t like textures….!)

  13. Just want to add a Merry Christmas to you!

  14. This is the very reason I love macro photography of nature. I love the surprises that make me gasp when I upload them to my computer! Very good eyes to have seen these little buds!! Wishing you a Merry Christmas!!

  15. I’ve had those after-the-fact discoveries too, for example:

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/sun-on-a-cloudy-day/

    Close-up lenses let us enter another world.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

