Sea Blue Lens

Happy Holidays!

16 Comments

Finally! Christmas snow . . . .

Winter Blues

Okay, I admit it, I pulled this from my archives. We did get a snow shower earlier this week, but it only lasted a short while before changing over to rain. I’m not really complaining. Snow is pretty, but I prefer precipitation that doesn’t need to be shoveled off the driveway.

I’ll be spending Christmas Day with my daughter and her significant other and their feathered and furred family.  They live in a very old house with a real, working fireplace, which is my idea of heaven. There will be presents under the tree to be opened in our pajamas, and stockings full of goodies, because we are all still just big kids on Christmas.

There will be good food, and probably a nap in front of the fire. There will be hugs and laughter, and phone conversations with loved ones who live far away. And there will be reminiscences about Christmasses past and other loved ones who are no longer with us. More laughter, and maybe a secret tear or two.

I’m grateful for all of you, my new friends and fellow members of this remarkable blogging community. Wherever you are, whether you celebrate Christmas or Chanukah or some other holiday as the seasons turn, I wish you peace, health, and happiness now and in the New Year to come.

God bless us, every one.

.

16 thoughts on “Happy Holidays!

  1. Wait a minute! There’s going to be HUGGING??? I don’t recall authorizing that.

    Well, okay, I guess. You said presents, too, right? And pie?

    Mmm, pie. Is it Christmas yet? 🙂

  2. Lee –
    You always manage to put into words (and images) what others are thinking of…
    Thank you…may God bless and keep you…and keep those thoughts and images coming.
    I look forward to every post!
    Denise 🙂

  3. Merry Christmas, Lee! Enjoy your day…more of the same going on here! I’m so glad to have “met you” this year!

  4. Lee, I hope you have a marvelous holiday with your family! Merry Christmas.

  5. Merry Christmas to you and yours…here’s hoping everyone’s wishes come true. Our day is low-key–we call it a pajama Christmas ‘cuz that’s what we’re wearing–but we’ll have a family gathering later in the week when everyone gets back from their “other half” celebrations.

  6. It sounds like a wonderful, magical Christmas. Especially the part “napping in front of the fire” sounds extremely appealing to me.

    Have a wonderful visit with your family, and also all the very best for 2012 to you. I’m very happy that we connected in blogland.

  7. Lee – I have to admit that I missed having a white Christmas this year here in Ohio. I know that it made it easier on our kids who had to travel but it just wasn’t the same. So thank you for providing a virtual “white Christmas” for me to enjoy.

    I hope your day was everything that you hoped it would be – especially that nap in front of the fire. Wishing you joy and creativity in the year ahead.

  8. Merry Christmas! That sounds like a lovely Christmas day! And oh, how I miss snow. I’m happy to hear you were able to have a white Christmas! 🙂

  9. This sounds like a wonderful Christmas and a super image also!!!

  10. I’m so glad to hear you pulled that from archives….or 20 min north got hit with a lot more snow than me. I hope your Christmas was a magical as you describe. Merry Christmas my friend.

  11. Your Christmas day sounds lovely and so relaxing! I am hoping for some snow while we are in DC — for photo opps, of course. Happy New Year!

  12. so glad you have decided to join my self-portrait project! if you have a chance, shoot me an email so I have your email address. i am at urbanmuser {at} gmail {dot} com. have a happy new year!

  13. the setting sounds wonderful for a most perfect holiday. I hope you enjoyed your time with family, and wishing you all the best in this brand new year.

  14. Love your snow picture! Hope you enjoyed your Christmas and New Years and had lots of fireplace time.

  15. A little late response, but since you pulled the picture from the archive, maybe it’s OK. I like the picture. Strong blue colours, and the way the shades repeat the shape of the rock, makes it come beautifully together. And it seems like you had a great Christmas.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

