Sea Blue Lens

For the Birds

17 Comments

Chuck and Kirk

We had the most amazing, gorgeous New Year’s Day here in Southern Maine. An azure sky with a few wispy clouds, golden sunshine, a mild breeze, and a temperature in the mid-forties. And . . . I got a new 55-200mm zoom lens for Christmas! What’s a photographer to do? Go on a photo walk with a couple of friends, of course.

We checked out the Audubon Sanctuary at Biddeford Pool, then we headed down here:

Nubble Light

What we were looking for was this, which was just out of the frame on the left of the image above:

Snowy Owl

. . . a Snowy Owl that had been reported on local bird forums as having been sighted hanging around the lighthouse. I’m quite pleased with this photo, which was cropped from an image taken with my new 55-200mm lens, hand held, from a distance of a hundred yards or so.

Anyway, that’s when the guys got out the “big guns.” Can you tell they are serious about this?

Getting Real

There was quite a little crowd coming and going, thanks in equal measure to the beautiful weather and the rumored owl sighting. People seemed equally fascinated by the camera gear and the Snowy. My companions were generous with offering close-up looks through their lenses, and sharing their knowledge of birds and photography with anyone who had questions.

Local Color

Sharing

Me? I was standing back watching the action, playing with my own new lens, photographing birds so far away I could barely see them, taking pictures of the scenery and the people, listening to conversations and having a few of my own, wearing a huge happy grin at the wonder of it all.

Waves

Lighter than Air

It’s hard to think of a better way to start a new year.

.

17 thoughts on “For the Birds

  1. Wow, love these shots. The colour of the sky is gorgeous and I can almost feel the sea air on my cheeks! Great shot of the snowy owl, how amazing to see one in the wild and how nice to have so many photographic brains to pick! Happy new year. Becsx

  2. Great photos Lee and oh my gosh what a treat to see a snowy owl!!! that is just so cool and congrats on your new photographic toy!!! Oh yeah…I love the local color shot too!

  3. Hey Lee….looks like a fun shoot. I’m not much of a bird fan, but seeing that owl must have been a great experience. I did borrow a kit 75-300mm from a friend last spring that I enjoyed playing with for a few months. I thought I’d be distraught and HAVE to get one after I returned it, but I’ve made out OK without it. It is a lens that I would like to add to my collection. Of course I don’t want the lens that’s less the $200, I want the one that’s pricey. I guess worth saving for. Hope all is well. Happy New Year to you.

  4. Lee – while I can’t much appreciate the fact of a new lens, I can certainly greatly appreciate the resulting shots. I do have to admit to (occasionally) wishing for a dSLR and all its capabilities – this may be one of those times where a teensy bit of jealously enters the picture.

    The shot of the lighthouse – I keep going back to it, reviewing it over and over. There is just something about the composition, the repetition of colors and triangular forms that I find deeply appealing. Have fund with your new toy – I look forward to your experiments!

  5. Oooh, lovely photos, lovely owl, and a cute boy! But I’m still not sorry I stayed in the house. You do know it’s winter outside, right? 🙂

  6. I tell ya, those snoot things that guy has on his flash work so good for birding. Grats on the new lens man! Cool shots as well. Like that last one.

  7. Love your lighthouse image. Shapes, color, love it!
    Now the owl, how majestic. What a great picture.
    Congratulations on your new lens. Aren’t they wonderful? Toys, wonderful toys!
    What a beautiful day for a walk and to start off a new year.

  8. Great shots, love the snowy owl..

  9. What and amazing day and a beautiful start to the New Year!! Great job with your new lens!! You owl pictures are stunning!!

  10. Thanks for sharing your outing with us…what great images! I love the lighthouse shot — something so calm and peaceful about it.

  11. what a fun day. I look at those lenses and I just can’t imagine being that serious!!! but I’m glad that someone is because I get to enjoy the photos. I love the photo of the waves – the spot of color in the water is gorgeous. and your bird shot too. and the lighthouse!!! you’re going to have a whole lot of fun with that new lens. happy day to you Lee.

  12. Lucky you to see the snowy. I love that seagull photo. What a beautiful day you had. Thanks for stopping by and I really hope you are serious about getting out your film camera and playing along at FILM26. In fact I’ll just say this. I can’t wait to see what you capture for the letter B starting on Monday and going for 2 weeks 🙂 See you there.

  13. The light seems so tender and almost tangible. I can feel the coldness despite the presents of the sun. As landscapes go the one with the lighthouse is very elegant. Great work.

  14. Our island has just recently had some snowy owls show up. Such beautiful birds! I also have a breeding male snow bunting at our feeders now – that’s unusual for us too

  15. Hanging out with other photographers is such a great thing! Looks like a fabulous location and time! The Snowy Owl is beautiful!

    Thanks for the congrats! We are over the moon excited!

  16. WHAT A WONDERFUL PRESENT–YOUR LENS…IT WILL GET SO MUCH USE LIVING IN SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PART OF THE WORLD. HAVE VISITED MAINE A NUMBER OF TIMES AND ALWAYS FALL IN LOVE WITH THIS STATE MORE THAN THE LAST VISIT. CAN’T IMAGINE THE EXCITEMENT THIS SNOWY OWL MADE….AND THOSE GIGANTIC LENSES….WONDER THE PRESS WASN’T THERE!!!! SERIOUSLY, YOUR PHOTOS ARE WONDERFUL, LOVE THE DOWN VIEW OF THE CRASHING WAVES…THE FORMATION, THE COLORS, EVERYTHING ABOUT IT. THE BIRD SHOTS ARE WONDERFUL, AND OF COURSE I DON’T SEE SNOWY OWLS IN MY PART OF THE WOODS. ENJOY YOUR LENS…I KNOW WE WILL SEE MANY MORE PHOTOS OF DISTANT VIEWS. SMILES: SHARON

  17. Pingback: Photo-Heart Connection: January « Sea Blue Lens

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

