Sea Blue Lens

Snow at Last!

20 Comments

From my desk

Some days it’s not so bad having to work in an office. Warm, dry, with a nice big window on the world. We were told to expect 1 to 3 inches of snow but the official total was 7.3 inches. Seemed like more, especially piled up by the snowplows at the sides of the streets.

Blessings to the kind coworker who dug my car out of the plowed-up ridges at the end of the day! I was able to clear the car of snow and get on the road in only 10 minutes instead of the 45 it usually takes after a storm.

The streets were slushy and slip-slidey and I was thankful to arrive home safely. I even found one cleared space in the parking lot at my building. It doesn’t get much better than that. I celebrated by having French toast for dinner. With real butter and real maple syrup.

All in all, a good day.

.

20 thoughts on “Snow at Last!

  1. You, my friend are in a much better state of mind over this %#@* snow than I am. Hoping for sun tomorrow. Nice snap from the desk.

  2. Yay, snow! Easy for me to say, as I don’t have to deal with it. Hope it’s the pretty kind that offers lots of photo opps.

  3. This is the kind of snow I like – a nice photo by someone else who is embracing it, nowhere near where I live! Keep warm and safe – and that French toast sounds delicious. Have a great weekend. 🙂

  4. Lee – we have snow here today in Ohio and I am grateful to be warm, inside, with nowhere that I have to be. I do love the way snow transforms the world but I’m glad that I don’t have to drive in it or scrap my car. Another retirement benefit 🙂

  5. Great photo of winter in town…and you just can’t beat real butter and real maple syrup…on anything!!!

  6. French toast! Why didn’t you invite ME?

    Oh yeah, because it would kill me. Oh well.

    At least I have a fireplace. And yes, you’re invited. 🙂

  7. Your picture proves it–snow is always nicer when you can view it from the inside out! The giant flakes in your photo look innocent enough but they do pile up quickly. And how nice that your coworker liberated your car for you!

  8. Love breakfast for dinner. We finally got snow too, not sure, 8 inches so far maybe. Have a wonderful weekend.

  9. everything about this post is comforting – the storefront, the description of your day, the french toast! I’ve been saving a few pieces of stale sourdough bread for just that purpose. now you know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow morning! we got snow yesterday – finally! we’ve never gone this late in the season with no snow. at least not in my memory. all told I think we got about 6 inches. just what was forecast. the whole flavor of the landscape has changed – to white cold. but I love it, I’ve got new eyes. happy weekend to you Lee.

  10. We are still waiting for snow to arrive, but when looking at your picture I am glad I am not out there. Looks wet and cold. You captured the feeling very well. Brrr.

  11. stay warm, and eat more french toast for dinner 🙂

  12. At least someone is getting some precipitation! California weather has been unpredictable… HoPe your enjoying a cozy weekend inside? Or taking pics of the snow?

  13. Snow!! I’m a little envious!! We never get enough here to satisfy me! The photo has a warm, cozy feeling since it’s taken from inside looking across at the “open” sign shining in the store across the street!!

  14. Great shot from your desk, sounds like a lovely dinner!

  15. I’m so missing snow this year. This is so exciting to see. Hope you’re enjoying it!!!

  16. As much as I like snow, spending an extra 45’er so to just get HOME… Makes me glad I live in Cali, lol.

  17. Gee, this looks a lot like Seattle right now. I’m home for the third day now. Will hopefully be able to get up our hill tomorrow. I love this street scene with the snow falling. Thanks for your kind words today and thanks for stopping by.
    Marji………………………x

  18. A beautiful winter-in-town shot – it makes me want to get into natural foods cafe and have a warm latte, sitting at the window and watching the snowflakes dancing down.

  19. What a great view from your desk! I like seeing this, and the snow.

  20. NOW THAT WE LIVE IN THE SOUTH, WE HAVE NON-STOP POLITICS, AND NO SNOW!!!! BEING A WESTERNER AT HEART, I DO MISS THE SNOW, THE COLORS, THE FEEL AND THE SMELL. BUT I HAVE TO SAY, DIGGING OUT A CAR I DO NOT MISS. LOVE THIS PHOTO YOU TOOK…REALLY COULD GET A FEELING FOR WHERE YOU WERE AT. THANKS FOR SHARING…WEATHER SEEMS TO BE ON MANY MINDS NOW DAYS.
    SMILES; SHARON

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

