Sea Blue Lens

First Time Scavenger

23 Comments

Well, I thought I’d give this Scavenger Hunt Sunday linkup, hosted by the lovely Ashley Sisk of Ramblings and Photos, a try. I love seeing everyone else’s Scavenger posts and it looks like fun, so here goes. This week’s items were: Sunset, Black and White, A Day in my Life, Four, Colorful.

Sunset Smoke

Sunset: I took this image from my living room window. You can blame any lack of sharpness on the two panes of glass and a screen that were between my camera and the outside. What can I say? It was COLD.

Personal Space

Black and White: A flock of pigeons on some power lines, each one fluffed up against the cold. You’d think they’d want to be closer together for warmth, but maybe it doesn’t work that way for birds.

Not Exactly a Cubicle

A Day in My Life: Behind this desk is where I spend most of my waking hours, Monday through Friday.

2 + 2 = 4

Four: Well, I didn’t have four images I wanted to use, and don’t really know how to make a montage anyway, though I could probably figure it out if I really tried. Here’s my alternate take on it – a pair of wine glasses and their shadows in the late afternoon light.

Bittersweet

Colorful: I love the contrast of these bright red berries against the soft, blue-water background.

What do you know? That really WAS fun! Now, let’s see if I can figure out the linky . . . .

.

23 thoughts on “First Time Scavenger

  1. Congrats on your first hunt. Love your desk. 🙂

  2. Beautiful hunt – really love the simplicity of your last shot.

  3. Glad you decided to give it a try. It is totally addicting, so watch out!. My fave-those birds on a wire. Did you ever notice they keep returning to the same place? With the miles and miles of wires, they seem to feel at home in a certain spot.
    I think you have some clever interpretations of the topics. Jot next week’s down and try again. It’s always fun.

  4. your first hunt is a success – each photo is a clever interpretation. I’m really loving the wine glasses, and the birds on the wire. Your desk seems like a not-bad spot to spend your weekdays – that electric blue must help to keep you awake. The bittersweet berries are smashing against the blue sky, I agree. I’m happy you dipped your toes in the water, and I’m looking forward to seeing more. Its a fun exercise. happy week to you Lee.

  5. Well done. The birds on the wire though really did it for me.

  6. Great photos! I think my favorite is also the glasses. I also love the color play in the bittersweet.

  7. Fantastic series, and welcome to the Hunt. I really do like your take on Four. Have a great week.

  8. What beautiful color you work with every day. Lucky you.
    I love the birds on the line. Something I want to do.
    These are all lovely pictures.

  9. I love your wine glasses and the berry images. Your desk looks pretty cool.
    Great beginning of a new series, I think.

  10. Welcome to the hunt. I must warn you, it’s most addicting. Really like that last shot. Simply perfect.

  11. Good going on your first time out. My favorite shot is the wineglasses with their shadows–creative photography and creative thinking too!

  12. Lee – well, you appear to be an old hand at this scavenging thing 🙂

    I really love the birds on the wire – such a graphic shot – like notes on a music staff. Your decision to compose this on the diagonal works so well. And of course, I adore the glasses with their shadows – I think that is a great interpretation of the theme – quite out-of-the-box thinking.

  13. Really like the birds on the line shot. Also, that smoke stack.

  14. A+ on the scavenger hunt Lee. You were very creative with the wine glasses…great shots all around!!

  15. i never tire of a good “bird on a wire” shot. lovely images!

  16. These are great shots! Scavenger hunt is fun, isn’t it?

  17. I like the birds on the wires, reminds me of musical notes on a staff. I once worked in an office years ago, your desk reminds me of those years. Pretty berries also, and all your shots are great!

  18. Great job on your first hunt! One of my favorite linkys!

    All your shots are lovely, but my favorites are your birds and the berries…oh, and the glasses. Ummm, maybe I don’t have a favorite! Great set!

  19. Great set of images, love your interpretations. Love the sunset smoke and the brids.

  20. What a wonderful series. Love your responses. Always such fun to see what everyone comes up with here.

  21. Lee, this is a fantastic collection!! I tried the Scavenger Hunt for the first time this week, too! It is fun and not a lot of pressure!! Looking forward to your next weeks photos!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

