Sea Blue Lens

Out to Pasture

16 Comments

Golden Hour

I’ve hinted around a bit that there are going to be some changes in my life. I will be retiring at the end of April, and a month after that, I will be moving from Southern Maine to Southern California. I am anticipating my retirement with unadulterated delight. I’ve always been one who has worked to live, not the other way around. To have the time to pursue all of my many interests, including photography, is my idea of bliss.

The moving part of this scenario is a bit more complicated. I’m excited about the new prospect in front of me, but at the same time, I’m leaving behind much that is precious. It will be wrenching to move so far away from friends and family that I love dearly, and from this beautiful, unique place that has felt like home since the first time I saw it.

This is not the first time I have uprooted myself and moved far from the known and familiar. I am a native Californian and grew up in the West, so in a way this is a return to my roots. I will be moving close to others who are dear to me, and I’ll make new friends; I always do. (That doesn’t make parting from the old ones any easier, though.)

I’m moving from a small town here to a small town there, and I’m looking forward to exploring that community, getting to know people, and finding ways to get involved. And, of course, finding new subjects to photograph.

My new home will be very different. Instead of a river flowing past my windows, I will be gazing at this:

New Morning

Instead of seagulls and mallards, there’ll be hawks and quail.

Callipepla californica

Instead of buying eggs at the health food store across from my office, I’ll be collecting them myself from the hens that laid them.

The Girls

Instead of a rented apartment, I will be living in my own little cottage next door to my sister and her husband. It has a patio, and a garden, and an apple tree right outside my bedroom window.

Green Delicious

And a fireplace. A real fireplace! The whole cottage has been freshly painted in my choice of paint, and is just sitting there waiting for me to come and make it home.

I will miss my ocean sunrises. But I’ll have mountain sunsets to look forward to. And stars like I haven’t seen since I was a child.

And the Sun Sank Slowly . . . .

And there will still be an ocean. It will be farther away — an hour and a half instead of fifteen minutes — but close enough so I can visit when I’m feeling parched for the sight and sound of my beloved sea.

Atlantic Morning

Pacific Afternoon

The “Sea” in my name will be a different one, but I will still be me, and I’ll still be here.

Adventure awaits!

16 thoughts on “Out to Pasture

  1. I’m so excited for you. I’m a Yankee from Connecticut and, every once in awhile I miss New England. I have to remind myself though that there is no family left there for me and that the West Coast is home now. I DO have to admit to preferring the Atlantic’s tang to the Pacific’s less pungent scent.

    A friend and I are getting chickens and I will painting the coop… looking forward to having the cluckers. I too am looking forward to retirement. I want to go at 62 – but what to do for health insurance betwixt 62 -65 is my issue. I know that you will be taking more very wonderful photographs on the left coast! m

  2. Wow, how exciting! Your new home sounds gorgeous and your photos are amazing. Best of luck with the move and I’m really looking forward to hearing about your new adventures.

  3. What an exciting time in your life! Your perspective on where you’ve been and where you are going is inspiring. I wish you all the best!

  4. Lee – how very, very exciting! I am thrilled for you and this new chapter in your life. I greatly admire your courage in uprooting the known in order to begin again. I can tell you with absolute certainty that retirement is heaven! I look forward to experiencing your unique perspective on California through your images, as you have done with Maine, bringing both alive for me. Aren’t we lucky that as virtual friends we can maintain our relationship regardless of which coast you live on? I just can’t express how happy I am for you – your cottage sounds amazinglyperfect and wish you the best in the move.

  5. Oh, what exciting news! Congrats on starting a new chapter! I am a big fan of California, so it sounds wonderful to me. Your cozy cottage sounds perfect, with chickens no less. Hope your transition is easy. We’ll be looking forward to your photos from the west coast. Welcome!

  6. California Quail!! Love these crazy birds.

  7. My gut instinct was to say, “No, no don’t go!” Then I have to stop and realize you are doing exactly what I did, minus the returning to your roots part. Ten years ago this July I returned. By November I had bought a house, packed my worldly possessions and moved to Maine. Thanks to Judith’s watercolor class, you were one of the first people I met when I moved here. I am so excited for you as you start this new phase of your life! Can’t wait to see photos or watercolors with the ocean on the other side of the road!!

  8. Wait…a…minute! You’re LEAVING? When were you gonna tell ME?? Who am I going to go out to dinner with every Wednesday? Who’s going to watch our bird when we’re out of town? Who’s going to come over for Movie and Pizza night, which we just established like, two weeks ago?

    Oh well. At least I can still read your blog. It had better be good, Missy! šŸ˜›

  9. I am sooo excited for you! I know it will be difficult to leave beautiful Maine, but what an exciting adventure awaits you! I can’t wait to see your new cottage. I wish you all the best as you pack up one home and move to another.

    joan

  10. Love the images as well as the “perspective”.

    I am so excited for you in your new adventure and can hardly wait to share some of those adventures with you!

    The first new quail family of the season came out this week…the lavender and iris are in bloom…all are awaiting your artistic eye and your poet’s heart to share with everyone who follows you here.

    Welcome home sis.

  11. Oh my, what a mixture of bitter and sweet in your near future. Still, I hope you will find a way, eventually, to visit your Maine friends and places at the same time as you are setting roots in your new location. Plus, your new place looks and sounds absolutely fabulous. Best wishes as you make the transition…

  12. How exciting Lee! Your new home looks and sounds like what I dream of. And I’m envious of you retiring and having your time all for yourself. Good luck with the move and all the changes. I hope you keep up the blog here so we can keep in “touch”.

  13. Wow! Boy, do I admire you…lots of courage here, but, oh the possiblities are endless! I’m looking forward to watching your journey and dream unfold…and, oh my, I’m envious!

  14. Congrats on your retirement! I’m so looking forward to seeing your new home, these pictures you’ve posted are beautiful!! Best of wishes are sent your way as you begin a new and exciting journey!!

  15. Looks like you are gonna have some great views from your new place, judging by the photos. How exciting to change life! And congratulations with the retirement. You are heading toward new adventures.

  16. Congrats to you Lee on your new adventure!!! This was a both a joy to read and sad at the same time. I will miss you photos of Maine but also look forward to your photos of your new home. All the best!!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

