Sea Blue Lens

Up a Creek

18 Comments

With a Paddle

So, say you plan to meet a friend after work for a photoshoot. It’s kinda last-minute, so you dash home at 5:00, quickly change clothes, grab your camera bag, toss it into the car and head out. You get to the appointed spot, open your bag, and . . . .

There’s no camera in there, just a lens and some accessories.

What would you do? More to the point, what did I do? Well, after saying a couple of things to myself that I won’t repeat here, I decided I wasn’t going to let it ruin my day. It was another crazy-warm-for-March, beautiful day, and the evening light was gorgeous. It would be great just to be out in the fresh air, enjoying the scenery and the company of my friend. Besides, we were going for pizza afterwards. Life was still good, though I did feel a little silly.

And then I remember I’ve got my iPhone with me — I can take some photos with that! My iPhone is still fairly new to me, and I haven’t used the camera much. So my expectations aren’t very high, but I figure, what have I got to lose? So I wander around, snapping this and that, trying to frame subjects on the viewscreen. In that light, the surface is like a mirror and I’m mostly seeing my own reflection. Still feeling a little silly, but having fun.

Maybe it was because I didn’t expect much. Or because I wasn’t taking myself or my photography very seriously. I wasn’t trying very hard. But to my great surprise, I got a bunch of images that I really like. Here are a few of them.

Dock

All Tied Up

Loner

Seawall

Gossip

Inner Light

Outer Glow

Molten Sky

At Rest

These images were taken with the iPhone camera, no apps involved. Some were lightly processed in Lightroom, but many are SOOC — or should I say SOOP (Straight Out Of Phone)? I was impressed with their color and clarity.

May I just say that I love my iPhone? I’m really glad I gave it a try that evening. It turned out to be a great night. (And the pizza was delicious.)

.

18 thoughts on “Up a Creek

  1. I can see why you are happy with your iPhone! All of these are excellent. My favorite is inner light…just the right amount of reflection and yet showing that light inside. Beautiful color, too.

  2. You took some gorgeous photos!! So glad you were able to enjoy your day and still capture some wonderful shots! I love the boats all tied up! Wonderful reflections and lines!!

  3. These are terrific–I especially like your use of the two birds for the “gossip” prompt. Very clever!

  4. This series is super!!! I am having a hard time picking a favorite!!!

  5. Lee – I guess you could count this situation as a happy accident! To have discovered what glorious images could be taken ANYTIME you have your phone in hand – what a gift! These are really quite amazing and I can understand why you were so thrilled with the results. To think you might have missed this light. If forced to pick a favorite, I would have to say “All Tied Up” – something about that row of boats and lovely reflections is so very appealing.

  6. I think it goes to show that it’s not the camera, it’s the eye that takes a photo. You’ve got some great shots in there, lady.

  7. Fantastic! Iphone quality is great, glad you had a chance to try it out. These are beautiful-you have a great eye.

  8. The best camera is the one you have with you right? 🙂

    It’s pretty crazy the level of image quality you can pull out of some of these newer phones. Nice work!

  9. These turned out really nice. Guess it was time to try that new ‘camera’ out. Some ties, but I like ‘all tied up’ the best.

  10. Wow, those are phone shots? I’m impressed! I never would have known – they’re lovely.

    And here I’ve just been using my phone cam for stuff like taking pictures of my hand after I accidentally stuck it into a ceiling fan. Maybe I should branch out, if I still have any fingers left. Ow.

  11. And of course the company was wonderful!!
    You got some great photos-just as we thought when we took a peek. I have 2 or 3 of those almost exactly from that night too….the others I guess I totally missed. This is another vote for getting an iphone. Someday, when I decide to take the plunge to spend more each month on a bill.
    Glad we grabbed the opportunity to enjoy the nice evening, and yes, the pizza was really good….and the leftovers were good on the following day too.
    Talk soon, I’m sure.

  12. These shots are beautiful, love the boats all tied up and the gorgeous outer glow. Gossip made me smile too. I got an iphone for Christmas and I completely love it – I’ve taken many shots I would have missed otherwise and like you, have been surprised at the quality. Glad you had a such a great evening, with lovely food and company too. 🙂

  13. Gee, all of a sudden I’m feeling sorry for your dSLR – looks like you have a new love! iPhone is fun – really fun. Glad you discovered it – now wait till you discover a bunch of way cool apps. Your photos are great!!

  14. Oh, wow, but you have some very cool images here! That boat reflection made me gasp in delight!

  15. Wow, Lee, this goes to show that it’s the photographer, not the camera! Beautiful, beautiful shots! My fave is the boat with reflection — gorgeous! Looks like you had a lovely evening!

  16. Leon, “All Tied Up” and “Inner Light” are my favorites. I am so impressed with these pictures, and your creativity in saving the purpose of your excursion. I am also impressed with the quality of the photos from your iphone. Great creative evening!

  17. Wow – that is impressive to get such awesome, great quality shots with your phone! But even despite that, your composition of these are wonderful, and some of the light you found: fantastic! Such an inspiring post on how to not let little things get the best of you when you have such beauty around you. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

