Sea Blue Lens

Photo-Heart Connection: April

30 Comments

Renewal

It looks chaotic, at first. But when I look at this image, I see possibility and new life bursting out in all directions. Many blossoms have already opened, but others are still closed tightly, waiting until the moment is right to spread their petals to the sun.

This is a mature tree, and this is not its first spring. It has experienced many cycles of the seasons, from flower to fruit to falling leaves and bare branches. To some eyes, that bare winter tree might seem dead. But its life is far from over, and with the warmth of spring the buds swell again. A new chapter in its story begins.

When I saw these beautiful blossoms and buds against the clear, deep blue sky, lifting their faces to the sun, I felt a connection and kinship with them. They seemed symbolic to me of my own life right now, one chapter ended and another beginning. Retirement is perceived by many to be the end of a person’s worth and usefulness, but I’m filled with excitement. What I see is the potential and purpose of all those buds on this old tree, and I can’t wait to see each one open in its turn.

Linking to Kat Sloma’s Photo-Heart Connection for April.

.

30 thoughts on “Photo-Heart Connection: April

  1. Love this pink and blue and it is totally fitting for where you are. I am jealous of your retirement. The world is wide open for you to pick and choose where you choose to spend, or not spend your time. Perfect image for PHC.

  2. I love the cherry blossoms. Really beautiful. Perfect for PHC

  3. Such a beautiful tree, so nicely framed against the sky! As someone who has been retired for two years, let me tell you the best is yet to come! You have the freedom to write your next chapter any way you wish. Wonderful selection for PHC!

  4. Wonderful shot of some beautiful little flowers.

  5. Such a wonderful perspective on life! I appreciate the beautiful image you shared here and your words.

  6. Lovely photo & some great thoughts about the next phase of your life.

  7. Beautiful photo and thoughtful words. Today’s cherry blossoms are tomorrow’s apples…blooming just outside your new bedroom window.

  8. A beautiful photo made even more poignant thru your thoughts!

  9. This is heavenly. If I’d taken this picture, I’d have selected it too. I love your words and so happy that you are seeing the potential and growth that can come out of your next life chapter.

  10. The tree is made more beautiful by its age and health, you can see it in those gorgeous blossoms facing the sun. A perfect representation for your transition – you will blossom too! Thanks for linking in to the Photo-Heart Connection.

  11. this is such a beautiful photo…i love the wonderful blossoms against the deep blue sky. I wish you all the best with the new chaper in your life…retirement…how exciting!

  12. As we are already in the high 80’s here in Texas and spring is long gone from here, this was an incredable picture to cool me back down. thank you for sharing

  13. Gorgeous image, love the whites and pinks against the clear blue sky. Loved reading your connection too, how exciting to be starting a new chapter and I love your perspective on it.

  14. As I was scrolling through all the blogs I need to catch up on, this photo stopped me in my tracks. It is glorious! Your words and photo fit together perfectly!

  15. When I first saw your photo I thought “spring makes my heart sing’ but I really enjoyed your words and the reminder that this old tree had blossomed many times before and will continue to do so in the future……Happy Retirement ! Mu uncle Jack told me that he finally figured out what he wanted to be when he grew up……RETIRED !

  16. Gorgeous photo. I love the way the blossom is just opening and is full of buds and new beginnings. A new chapter in your life and your words go so well with the photo and the excitement you share with us about all the new things that you are going to discover!

  17. Retirement sounds wonderful and your image is beautiful. I love your description of the relationship of the blooms with the sun. We should follow their example and take a moment each day to lift our faces to the sun.

  18. My first thought was, “Oh, how beautiful. I love the pink of the flowers resting against the blue sky. Retirement does open up all types of new adventures and doors. Enjoy every minute of it.

  19. Lee – what a wonderful and appropriate metaphor for this time of new beginning in your life. Trust me when I say this: retirement has amazing potential for personal growth. And I know you will truly blossom – just like this tree.

  20. what an exciting time in your life..retirement..goodbye work…hello fun! i hope it is filled with all the wonderful things you havn’t had the time to explore yet!

  21. I was just thinking of you this very morning and wondering if you had moved yet…. and then there was a comment from you!!! Love how the universe works! Your photo is gorgeous and we were just in Maine this past week (the day before Vermont;) and I was so surprised at how things looked to be a good 2-3 weeks behind our vegetation. The best is yet to be… both in Spring and in retirement. You are smart to be so postivie! Wishing you well.

    happy weekend in beautiful Maine!
    joan

  22. What a wonderful place to be in, so full of possibility! I think that your image captures that feeling with its exuberant color and the inherent promise of the season.

  23. I love the picture! It is so YOU at this point in your life. Some wise person told me just before I retired to be sure I did not just retire from something, but to something. You are doing that!

  24. I like what you told about retirement, its so trough,and I love the picture even more.

  25. What glorious spring blossoms!

  26. It ‘s easy to love a tree full of pink blossoms. Pretty.

    Your icon choices do not include WordPress.org blogs, so I’m including my link. (Frustrating for me, since WordPress made this change I’ve lost half my traffic…)

    http://www.seededearth.com/2012/05/04/aprils-photo-heart-connection-photo-an-unusual-choice/

  27. Cherry blossoms are my favourite vision of all time. Thank you for sharing.

  28. what a thoughtful and thought-provoking post. I love the photo, and the metaphor. I didn’t realize you will be retiring. Congratulations on that – and wishing you all the best in your new journey. take good care now. and happy week to you Lee.

  29. This is such a beautiful photo and I love all your thoughts. Wishing you all the best on your new journey!

  30. This is gorgeous! I love the deeper pink of the buds and the more pastel pink of the flowers! I also love your thoughts! I love your attitude about retirement and wish you the very best!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

