Sea Blue Lens

Creatures Great and Small

10 Comments

I have been amazed and delighted by the variety of wildlife (and not-so-wild life) I’m now living in close proximity to. Of domesticated furred and feathered friends in residence, there are 3 dogs, 5 cats, 2 pet birds, 1 pet rabbit, 7 chickens, and 2 horses.

The wild birds and small furry creatures outside my windows are always entertaining when I need a break from unpacking boxes. In fact, I find them a distraction from getting serious work done, and my camera is always close at hand. I have little experience with wildlife photography, and make no claims about the quality of these photos. In fact, most of them were shot through the front window. I’ve been recording them for my own amusement, and in some cases so that I could look them up and identify them later.

The birds and beasties below are just a sampling — there are many others I haven’t gotten on camera yet. And of course there are the ones that “got away” . . . like the roadrunner I surprised in my front yard a couple of evenings ago. I’m not sure which of us was more surprised, actually. I knew there were some in the area, but never expected to see one 20 feet away in my own front yard. Since I had only stepped out to retrieve the jar of sun tea, I didn’t have my camera in my hands. But there’s always the next time!

10 thoughts on “Creatures Great and Small

  1. The quality of your photos is excellent! I love seeing what you are witnessing in your new home. What a great way to take a break from unpacking!

  2. Everyone needs an unpacking break – glad these little friends have come to call and welcome you to the neighborhood.

  3. I also love meeting your new western furry/feathery friends! Are you telling me there really is a creature called RoadRunner? I thought it was a cartoon character created in someone’s imagination…

  4. You are living in the country! What fun to be welcomed by so many creatures!

  5. It will be fun to see what you come up with when you can really dedicate yourself to the task. I predict we will be seeing some wonderful photos from your new corner of the world.

  6. Oh, what a welcome you’re receiving from your feathered and furry friends!! These captures are amazing!!

  7. Wow now that’s a welcoming committee !!! Great shots Lee!!!

  8. Oh dear! Please stop posting cute animal photos, or my boyfriend is going to want to move out there too, and I’ll send our 2 birds, 2 mice, 1 hamster, and 1 super-old bunny with him! Then you’ll be sorry! 😛

  9. Hurray for Alligator Lizards! 🙂 I used to catch those as a kid. They like to bite you, lol. They don’t hurt really, maybe sting a little. I used to catch them the same way people noodle catfish. They would bite my finger and I would just pull them up still dangling 🙂

  10. Love that lizard shot against the yellow. Not so sure I’d enjoy the lizard though. The bluebird and towhee shots are my other faves. for images shot thru a window, you’ve done really well. Glad you have some quiet friends around to enjoy.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

