Sea Blue Lens

Facing It Down

16 Comments

This month’s optional theme for our {In the Picture} year-long self-portrait project was “Facedown!” The idea was to try planking. (If you don’t know what that is, you can read about it here.) As always, the monthly theme is only a suggestion and we don’t have to do it if it doesn’t feel right.

I’ve gotta tell you, I have always thought planking was silly and pretty pointless, although I have seen examples that were interesting and/or amusing. So the theme didn’t appeal to me much, but being the cooperative and obedient person I am, I gave it a try — sort of. I didn’t do it in a public place, and in fact waited until I was completely alone here at home before I gave it a go. I’m afraid the resulting photos only confirmed my “silly and pretty pointless” opinion. (That didn’t come out sounding quite right, but you know what I mean.)

Anyway, here are a few of the selfies I took this month. I did try several different face-down poses, even if they weren’t all technically “planks.”

Seriously?

Whew!

Hearthwarming

Thinker

Dreamer

I’m looking forward to learning what next month’s theme will be. It’s always interesting, even if it’s not always comfortable.

Check out the June {In the Picture} linky party here. Thanks to Christy at Urban Muser for her ongoing encouragement and inspiration for this project!

16 thoughts on “Facing It Down

  1. Next month’s theme: plankton! You’ll have a whale of a time!

    Now quit lying around and get back to unpacking, Missy! 🙂

  2. OMG….to know you is to love you! This is so funny and trust me, I need a big laugh right now. You have provided it. Seriously? Whew. I kind of don’t get the appeal of the plank either (well unless you put the “Plink, Plank, Plunk Pretty Powder Pink” texture on it), but whatever. I WILL try a plank at some point and you can laugh at my results too.
    Happiest of days to you my friend.

  3. When I read planking I expected to see you in Pirate garb jumping overboard from a multi-masted vessel. I guess I should have known better being that you are in the desert.

  4. I’m glad you included the link for “planking” because I had no idea what that meant. These are super examples though!!!

  5. Have to agree with you on the “planking” – don’t think you could get me to do that and then record it for posterity 🙂 Love your “Thinker” and “Dreamer” however – creative and lovely.

  6. Your “planking” photos are perfect and full of humor!! The second one made me laugh out loud! Glad you had a little fun with this! The last ones are beautiful!!

  7. Great job with the planking! I agree that it’s probably not something I will do often but it was kind of fun & it’s good to have a theme to keep up the self portrait momentum.

  8. So I’m thinking ‘planks’ as in yoga/pilates. Checked out your reference and now I understand. I would not be able to lie face down, especially on the ground outside-I’d be afraid bugs would crawl up my nose!
    You did a really good job there on that rock, I image it would work a few muscles-I should try it before mine retire!
    I love the ethereal look of ‘dreamer’ and a lovely picture ‘thinker’ very nice selfie.

  9. I’m totally with you on this, Lee! It does seem pointless and silly. (It’s funny how we think that and still try it.) The thinker and dreamer images are much more interesting, in my opinion. I really love the dreamer — so dreamy! 🙂

  10. I am glad you decided to give it a try even though you think it’s silly 🙂 Sometimes it’s good to jump out of our comfort zone for a bit. Your pictures all came out great!! Thanks for linking up at {in the picture} this month.

  11. I love this month’s set. I fell into the same thought pattern you did – but unlike you I didn’t even give it a try. Great effort and way to go stepping out of the comfort zone.

  12. Love the last one, I a, with you, even so I gave it a try and some of the resulting photos hold an interesting meaning.

  13. love the plank on the hearth…

  14. Love this post. I kind of feel the same about planking and only managed one on my kitchen table, so well done for getting out there.

  15. I obviously need to get out more–I never heard of planking before your post! It does seem a little silly but, then again, where would the world be without a little silliness in it?

    You definitely got into the theme with your last two photos–I especially like the “dreamer” shot.

  16. Haha – I love all the planking happening in this post! LOL

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

