Sea Blue Lens

Fun with Photoshop

12 Comments

I have been having the best time! The lovely Kim Klassen offered a free, 10-day mini-Photoshop class and I took her up on her generosity. It’s very, very basic — like how to use layers and layer masks and other such elementary things — but it’s been a revelation to me. And this despite my having used PS (self-taught) for nearly a dozen years at my work.

Somehow I always managed to get the job done, even though I knew I wasn’t really doing it “right.” I know this sounds like a shameless plug for Kim’s classes, but I have been truly impressed. I was learning new stuff from the very first lesson. It’s mostly the same things I was already doing in my own muddling way, but oh, so much easier now.

I’ve even tried textures. And while I still don’t totally get the texture thing, I have to admit it was fun and I can see its occasional usefulness. (I have a friend who’s probably laughing her head off right now. You know who you are.)

Here are a few samples of my “homework”:

I have so much more to learn. But I really enjoy Kim’s teaching style, so I’ve signed up for more. Her voice is calm and somehow comforting, and she makes it all seem so simple. She doesn’t even know me, but she tells me I can do this and I believe her.

12 thoughts on “Fun with Photoshop

  1. Hey, that’s awesome! You actually made me look pretty! Which filter is THAT? Clearly I should take this class too. 🙂

  2. LOVE these Leon! I especially love the “Blue Chair” and the landscapes. I am jealous of your motivation to grow and learn creatively every day!!

  3. Welcome aboard the Photoshop train! Glad to see you spreading your wings with post-processing – your results are fabulous. Isn’t it fun? This whole retirement thing – it’s pretty darn cool, isn’t it? Lots of time for PS experimentation. I look forward to your continued ventures.

  4. What fun to try new things and learn new skills. I’ve been enjoying your “homework” on flickr — you are getting very skilled! I’ve been messing around with ps for years also…..maybe I should take a real class.

    • Gina, Kim’s PS Essentials is available now as a self-paced class. I’m going to do that one next. Judging by the list of contents, I think it will take me a long way towards being able to use PS as I’d like to.

  5. Those photos look great! Layers are sooo useful. Did Kim talk to you about using a gradient layer? I found that you can use on like a graduated neutral density filter and it really helps with backlighting. Your images look like you are a pro at this already too!

  6. I adore Kim!!! She’s such a great teacher, and you are right about her voice. She actually made me become really interested in textures and I love and enjoy using them.
    Your “homework” looks great – I actually like all of your photos (even before this course).

  7. These are are such wonderful shots! It’s fun to learn something new, but I agree with you, I really don’t get the textures thing either. I think because I want my nature shots to look just as I see them!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

