Sea Blue Lens

Scavenger Hunting

28 Comments

This week’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday items really appealed to me for some reason, and I had fun looking for ways to fulfill them all week. They were Forest, Morning Light, Touch, Newspaper, and Coffee or Tea.

Forest:

Into the Wood

OK, I know this isn’t really a forest. There are forests around, but I haven’t had a chance to visit any yet. On Friday, my sister and I drove over to the coast and spent a fun day exploring Ventura. This pretty little garden had been freshly mulched with bark chips, and I wish I could have captured the scent with my camera. It may not look like a forest, but it sure smelled like one!

Morning Light:

Clear Day

I’m not sure whether morning or evening is my favorite time here. Both are beautiful. The house is on a hill overlooking a valley to the mountains beyond. But we are also surrounded by higher hills, which means that we are in shadow at sunrise and sunset while the mountains around us are being painted with light and shadow. It was hard to choose between the front view and the back. I decided on this one because I liked all the birds lined up on the wires to greet the day.

Touch:

Paired Off

I don’t know any of these folks, but I enjoyed watching them play on the beach on Friday. I was using my point & shoot, which has quite a shutter lag, so I was surprised to discover this sweet, brief moment when I reviewed my photos.

Newspaper:

All the News That Fits…

This is a small town, and our local paper is a weekly called the Country Journal. I like the format — it’s the size and shape of a magazine, which makes it easy to handle, and the content is good, too. There’s always something interesting to digest with a cup of tea.

Coffee or Tea:

Coffee Love

Speaking of tea…. When my daughter told she was going to get me a Keurig for Christmas a couple of years ago, I said No thanks. I didn’t want one. I drink tea most of the time, and figured if I ever wanted a coffee I could go out for it. She said, “Well, tough. You’re getting one anyway.” Guess what? I fell in love with my little Keurig the minute I took it out of the box. Look at that gorgeous red! And it’s absolutely perfect for someone who only drinks a couple of cups of coffee a week. Thanks again, Kids!

By the way, the pastry, grapes, and peaches are from our farmers’ market and the green apples are from my own tree. I may not have a forest at my doorstep, but there are other compensations!

Linking up with Scavenger Hunt Sunday. Click on over and check out this week’s other interpretations.

28 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunting

  1. That Danish looks scrumptious…feel like sharing a nibble??? Can you pack it in dry ice and fed ex it?

  2. Mmm, beverages. 🙂

    P.S. FedEx yourself out here too, please! But maybe skip the dry ice.

  3. Hi Lee! I got your postcard yesterday. I so love it very much. I took a photo of it and made it as my wall photo for my phone ^_^ Happy Sunday!

  4. Wonderful set! Of course, my favorite is going to be the mountains in the morning light! Such a beautiful view you have! I also love the composition in the newspaper and coffe shots!!

  5. Wonderful shots! I love, love, love your morning light photo. Beautiful view!

  6. Certainly love that last shot. I have not bought one yet- it never brewed quite enough to fill my mug. I hear they just came out with one that will do 18oz at a time- now we are getting a bit closer to my needs 🙂

  7. Great shots! Love morning light and your brewing coffee!

  8. I’m so glad you have a camera, and a blog, so you can share your world with us here! Beautiful images. That last one makes me want to just come knock on your door and share a cup with ya!

  9. Great choices! I love your interpretations… I think morning light may be one of my favs! Thanks for reminding me that I’ve been meaning to try the Scavenger Hunt … time..I need more time!

  10. Beautiful set of delightful moments. I love seeing how you are settling in to your new home, finding the loveliness around you.

  11. This week’s prompts did speak to you. I love seeing your morning view and so glad you got to visit the water. As for that little coffee machine-no thanks, I’ll stick with Mr Coffee who makes multiple cups at a time-but I’d be into that danish. Are there little machines for that?

  12. Great photos! I love the one for touch, such a stunning photo from a point and shoot!

  13. I am amazed and thrilled to see how your “everyday life view” has changed from the sea to the mountain valley! Love the color and composition of the coffee and danish picture…

  14. what an excellent hunt – I love that Morning Light/Shadows shot. the colors are dreamy. I hope you’re getting comfortable in your newer surroundings, it looks like you have wonderful spots to roam for photo ops. happy week to you Lee. I’m drooling over that danish.

  15. You have a knack for scavenging…the first photo proclaims “peace” and the last one says “yum.” It doesn’t get much better than that.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

