Sea Blue Lens

Thankful

7 Comments

Home Sweet Home

Everything is new this year, but some traditions go on, like watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade on TV. Honestly, I don’t know why I do it, because I don’t even like it that much. But it’s been tradition ever since we got our first television when I was a child.

Back in the day, the parade was broadcast live, so if you lived in the Pacific time zone, you had to get up awfully early to see it. Dad, who worked a graveyard shift, would wake us up when he got home from work at six a.m.  Frankly, I’d rather have stayed in my nice warm bed, but the parade was not optional.

By the time I had my own family, the tradition was well-entrenched, but we had added our own little touches, like drinking eggnog while we sat in front of the TV. Later, after I moved eastward to Ohio and then to Maine, the parade came on at 9:00, a much more acceptable hour. My adult daughter and I would still watch it together in our pajamas (another tradition!) while drinking eggnog.

One year we discovered the National Dog Show on TV following the parade, and that became a new part of our Thanksgiving day ritual, one we enjoy more than the parade itself. This year we’re a continent (and three time-zone hours) apart, but we’re both watching the parade and dog show in our pajamas. She had eggnog. I forgot it. Oh, well.

I have so much to be thankful for this year! A new home, a whole new life. New traditions. I’m grateful for old friends and being able to keep in touch, and for my online friends who have moved right along with me and are just as close no matter where I live.

This morning, I lit candles on my hearth and watched the Macy’s Parade while talking to my daughter on the phone. I’m looking forward to sharing a feast with my sister and her husband and their closest friends later today. Life is good and I am blessed.

I hope today is a good one for all of you, my friends. Happy Thanksgiving!

7 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. It was fun watching the parade with you on the phone, even though I already knew how it ended.

    I will text you some eggnog if you want, though. I think there’s an app for that.

    And I ate way too much over here, but I think there’s a nap for that. 🙂

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you!! It sounds like a lovely tradition! I’m always too busy in the kitchen to watch the parade and my grandsons don’t really like it either! I love the peek of your home, it’s beautiful!

  3. What a wonderful story – of the importance of traditions and the way they bind us to the ones we love. Regardless of physical proximity. Happy (belated) Thanksgiving!

  4. Happy belated Thanksgiving to you Lee!!!

  5. What a lovely Thanksgiving story! Traditions are important, I think — it gives us a sense of continuity. When I was a kid, we watched the Macy’s parade, and I always wanted to see it in person. Maybe I should put it on my bucket list!

  6. Traditions are what bind families together despite time, distance, different lifestyles, etc. I have in my mind’s eye an image of you and your daughter sharing the Macy’s parade via telephone–how special is that??

    The parade, bubble (monkey) bread, and hot chocolate in special cups are part of our Thanksgiving tradition and once Santa Claus makes his debut, I know it’s time to get the turkey into the oven for 5:00 dinner.

    Thanks for sharing!

  7. Today we are going to share with you a fun little tradition our family has done since forever. A few days after Santa would visit our house, we always had a ‘special’ visitor who came and hid us a little present. Every NEW YEARS DAY we would wake up and hurry through the house looking for our hidden present from none other than MRS. CLAUS. It never was anything big necessarily, but the excitement of finding the gift was almost as exciting as Christmas morning. Years later we have all grown up and started our own little families. This tradition has continued on with each of our families. Our kids love it just as much as we loved it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

