Sea Blue Lens

Nearing the Finish Line

11 Comments

This is the next-to-last month of the {In the Picture} project for 2012. Our theme for November was “I am thankful.” The image below is one of those that is worth the proverbial thousand words.

Picture of Contentment

Picture of Contentment

I know how very fortunate I am, and I truly am thankful for all the riches in my life. They’re not monetary riches. But I have enough for my needs, as well as a beautiful home, friends and family who love me, an abundance of interests to pursue, and the health to be able to enjoy all of these things.

This is my first fire of the season, and, in fact, my first fire in my very own fireplace . . . which is the fulfillment of a dream. I experimented with adding a couple of Kim Klassen’s textures to this image. The effect is pretty subtle, but it does make a difference, and it was fun to play with.

I’m also thankful for Christy at Urban Muser for hosting this self-portrait project all year. I had really wanted to do one for myself, but I know I would have fallen by the wayside long ago if it hadn’t been for this monthly linkup. It’s been a challenging and fun instrument of growth in my life. Thanks, Christy!

Come check out the November Linky Party!

11 thoughts on “Nearing the Finish Line

  1. How wonderful to have your own fireplace and to sit and read by it. You have many things to be grateful for; friends, family who love you and your good health. Lovely self portrait of contentment!

  2. You have a fireplace in your cute little cottage? Whut? You’ve got everything! Nothing like enjoying a cozy fire. I’m snuggled up to the space heater; it’s just not the same. Good to see you in the picture. Whatcha readin’? dictionary?
    Hugs from Maine where it’s spitting snow this a.m. and below 20. Brrrrrr.

    • Not the dictionary, though there are those who wouldn’t be surprised if it were. The prop in the photo is my very favorite book, which I actually plan to reread starting today. It’s the perfect book for winter-by-the-fire reading. Sending hugs and lots of warmth back your way!

  3. Nothing like reading by the fire ….that looks so cozy and warm — lovely shot, Lee! Isn’t it wonderful to have the freedom to do what you like. Enjoy, enjoy!

  4. A lovely photograph indeed Lee… you look so comfortable and cozy sitting next to the fire.

  5. What a gorgeous photo that is indeed the definition of contentment! How wonderful for you to be sitting here by your very own cozy fire, with your favorite book in hand, candles lit. What more could one want?

  6. Lovely, you are looking very content.

  7. gorgeous photo of you in an inviting living room. I enjoyed this month’s challenge of taking a moment to be grateful for what we have. Thank you for sharing yours:)

  8. this is a beautiful shot. it was my pleasure to host all year–it makes me happy that you found joy and purpose in the project. thanks for linking up, see you next month!

  9. This is so lovely!! I want to be there beside the warm, cozy fire!

  10. This is a wonderful portrait. Love your words too

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

