Sea Blue Lens

Scavenging in a Gray World

7 Comments

It’s foggy and rainy today, perfect for sitting at the computer and going through photos! Today’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday items are: Missing, Numbers, Purple, Music, and Bracelet. Let’s get to it!

Missing:

Blank Slate

Blank Slate

What’s missing? My view! This is what I woke up to this morning. The mountains over which the sun rises apparently got up and walked away overnight.

Numbers:

Feeding My Flock

Feeding My Flock

Filling the feeder with sunflower seed brings in large numbers of house finches, among other songbirds. Hungry birds aren’t much on politely waiting to take turns, so things get pretty exciting around there.

Purple:

Watercolor

Watercolor

I don’t think I will be sitting out on the patio in my pretty purple chair today.

Music:

Halleluia!

Hallelujah!

More years ago than I care to think about, I sang in a large community chorale that performed Handel’s Messiah every year during the Christmas season. I learned it by heart and still remember most of it, but I still have my music. And I’m listening to it on my stereo right now.

Bracelet:

Memories

Connections

I was doing a lot of research into my family tree through Ancestry.com while I was putting together this bracelet.  My father had left home as a teenager and never had contact with his family again. Many of the beads and charms represent family members that I discovered and connected with through my research, as well as other people and places dear to me. Every time I look at it, I remember the thrill and excitement of that amazing ancestral “scavenger hunt.”

And that’s it for this week. Thanks again to the lovely Ashley Sisk for hosting. Click on over to check out everyone’s linkups.

7 thoughts on “Scavenging in a Gray World

  1. Oh, I love your missing mountains! What a strange feeling that must have given you – to look out on your new view and see it so changed. And I liked the story behind your bracelet – how it represents your ancestral “scavenger hunt” – what a wonderful project – a symbolic way to remember.

  2. You captured beautiful images on this rainy day!! I love the mood in the first one. I’m sure you miss your mountains! I also love your bracelet; a beautiful treasure!

  3. Very nice set – love the mood of that first shot and interesting approach to filling up your bracelet – very neat!

  4. Lovely set! Thanks for commenting on my SHS post. And the answer to your question is yes we are keeping the cat!

  5. I really like your “numbers” shot. Wow, that’s a lot of birds round the feeder!

  6. I love the shots you got on the rainy day! I bet your view is beautiful!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

