Sea Blue Lens

Photo-Heart Connection: January 2013

17 Comments

When I looked over my images from January to choose the one that stood out from the rest, this is what jumped out at me:

Whither Goest Thou?

Whither Goest Thou?

I know, what the heck is that?

I was sitting at my desk in front of the window, working away at the computer, when a flash of something white in the sky caught my eye. It was a flock of birds, shining in the sun, moving fast. I’d never seen anything like them here before, so I grabbed my point and shoot camera, which happened to be sitting on my desk, and ran for the door. I zoomed to maximum telephoto and grabbed this one shot just before they flew out of sight behind the mountains. I wasn’t trying for art, I was really just hoping to get enough to be able to identify the birds.

So here they are, cropped for a better look. Now can you tell what they are?

It's a Mystery

It’s a Mystery

How about now?

Seriously?

Seriously?

That’s right — seagulls. What?

I live in the DESERT. The ocean is about fifty miles west of here, as the crow…er, seagull flies. But these guys were heading east, toward more desert. Where were they coming from? Why did they leave there? Where were they going? What did they find on their journey?

These are thoughts I’ve been pondering in regards to my own life. My word, my theme for this year is “Explore.” I want to explore the the world around me:Β  see new places, meet new people, learn new things, take new photographs, read new books, think new thoughts. I want to fly in new and unexpected directions.

This is not exactly natural behavior for me. I’m an introvert, and can be a bit shy, though I usually hide it pretty well. Trying something I’ve never done before, or going someplace I’ve never been before is not easy. It always scares me a little.

I think I’ll pretend to be a seagull, sailing over brown hills, looking for blue water. Maybe I’ll pick up a few friends along the way who’d like to share the journey.

Linking with Kat Eye Studio’s Photo-Heart Connection for January.

.

17 thoughts on “Photo-Heart Connection: January 2013

  1. “Pretending to be a seagull, sailing over brown hills” that sounds like you’re going to have fun discovering new horizons. I like that first shot with the birds flying high and just that small diagonal of land in the corner!

  2. I love where those birds took you.
    Happy PHC,
    Rinda

  3. The going places and exploring new ones can be scary at first, but be causes such an adventure that you can’t get enough and are disappointed when you can’t get out. Trust me in this as one introvert to another πŸ™‚

  4. As I read your words and looked at your images I thought of how much “surprise” is waiting for us…if we just Look, or Explore, or try Something New. I hope you have a fabulous time doing your own Exploring this year!

  5. What a beautiful metaphor to guide your entrance into this new life you have created. As a fellow introvert, I understand the reluctance to reach outward toward new challenges, new friends, new places. But let the seagulls be your guide – onward into the desert, searching for blue water.

  6. That is what it’s all about in this wonderful creative community sharing the journey Visiting from PhotoArt Connection…

  7. This is a great example of how a photo can inspire and guide us! Exploring is a wonderful theme — may your flights take you to exciting places and fun explorations.

  8. Oh, you saw those? I sent them over from Maine to check up on you. They just flew in last night, and man, were their arms TIRED. πŸ˜›

  9. Love your word; it might be interesting to google the symbolism for seagulls!

  10. Miriam, what a wonderful Photo-Heart connection this is.
    You just never know where you’ll find seagulls.
    We have literally hundreds hanging out in the local Walmart parking lot.
    Of course, I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that many people feed them there! πŸ™‚

    Happy Sunday to you, my friend!

  11. I share your desire to explore new things. My word this year, focus, is along the same lines. I’m a quiet, rather shy, person who also gets quite nervous when I get out of my comfort zone! I’ll enjoy following your journey.

  12. It’s hard, getting out of our comfort zone. It is not easy. You describe the discomfort that comes when we push ourselves. But I love that you are working through it. Seeing these seagulls as an example, to keep looking and moving toward what you want. Knowing, as hard as it is, that good things will come your way. Thank you for sharing in the Photo-Heart Connection this month!

  13. “Explore”–such a good word for your theme this year. The seagulls are a perfect symbol. Enjoy your flights to new places and experiences. It can be challenging, but it is so worth it.

  14. I love the way you wrote about this. My word is “discover” — a relative to “explore.” Here’s to some great explorations and discoveries!

  15. Wondeful photo, love your text. Explore is an amazing word.
    Fantastic photo-heart connection

  16. Spread your wings and explore new territories! Great picture to connect vision and soul. By the way seagulls are among the most successful birds, taken over more and more habitats. They are no longer only sea birds.

  17. Maybe I sent them and they didn’t get good directions!
    Your shyness serves you well, and underneath is richness. No worries. Explore on, expand, extend….you can always go back home if it doesn’t work out.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

