Sea Blue Lens

Snow Day

12 Comments

The weatherman told us we might expect some snow overnight, so when I woke up at six this morning I had to take a quick, shivering peek through the curtains.

A light in the darkness

A Light In the Darkness

We didn’t get a lot of snow, maybe a couple of inches, but it was enough to make a magical scene in the pre-dawn dark, with only the neighbor’s porchlight providing a spark of warmth.

DSC_0008

Mountain View

By 9 a.m. the snow was already fast disappearing, especially from the roads and on south-facing slopes. The heavy cloud cover had given way to brilliant blue. This image was taken looking back at our place and the mountains behind.

DSC_0013

“You get back here right now!”

On my way back to the house, I passed by these very noisy crows. I’m not sure what they were cawing about — maybe they were calling to their friend up there in the sky.

DSC_0016

Rabbit Corner

As I walked past the spot we call Rabbit Corner (see all the tracks?), I heard birdsong coming from that big bush. I thought at first that our resident mockingbird was providing the concert, but it turned out to be a pair of California Thrashers. I was delighted to see and hear them, especially since they haven’t been around the past couple of months. I hope they’re nesting!

DSC_0032

Spring Song

One of them accompanied me along the path up the hill, singing all the way, and I went back to the house grinning like a fool.

I think Spring must be on her way, don’t you?

I just realized it’s Walk and Click Wednesday. I’ve been wanting to join in on that, so I’m going over to link up right now.
laf Custom Designs

12 thoughts on “Snow Day

  1. I am so excited to have you join us Lee. Beautiful photos. I happy that you got a little snow to add to your photography experience. Love Rabbit Corner!

  2. Love seeing your homestead covered in snow. That first image – all blue with that one glowing spot of golden orange light – is fabulous. And I love the wide Mountain View shot – with everything dusted with snow. Adds another layer of beauty.

  3. I like all of these, but that light in the darkness is so special, so inviting and warm.

  4. I do believe, after some sleuthing, that I found your name … I love your early morning light/darkness photo, Leon. Would love to know what part of the country these image are taken. Such inviting spaciousness and mountain backdrops. I’m so glad you joined in Walk and Click Wednesdays and hope to see you again. ;->

  5. Yay, you are as excited about snow as we are…that is because we aren’t inundated and limited by too much of the white fluff! I agree with others, the first night shot is beautiful…what a great focus you got…dark, one light and distance…you did great!!! Love the little bunny feet padding around, any signs of life at this time of year is heart warming. You live in a very beautiful area. Didn’t you feel terrifically energized when you went back inside your warm house after being out in the clear blue sky and snow on the ground!!! Better than peanut M&M’s. smiles: sharon

  6. I bet it was fun with some snow, even if it wasn’t a whole lot. Or maybe you don’t really enjoy the winter. Any which way, it’s great pictures.

  7. Lovely, lovely photos – especially that magical first picture! Here on the east coast Spring feels a ways off yet.

  8. Ah, a little taste of home for you… 🙂

  9. Oh Leon, lucky you – I really miss the snow! The funny thing is, if there were just a couple inches snow here they would close the schools for the day! It always makes me laugh when that happens…
    Anyway, I really like your photos, the one on top has a lot of wonderful atmosphere.

  10. What a beautiufl walk! I love the first one with the light on next door! So happy the the bird sang to you as you walked along! I’m glad you thought to link with Walk and Click Wednesdays. I enjoy the link-up. I get to see so many other places!

  11. Hi! Very beautiful snow day photos! I like the first photo very much. Wishing you a wonderful Sunday.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

