Sea Blue Lens

Liberated Again!

46 Comments

2013 Postcard Swap

This is the third year I’ve participated in the fun of the Liberate Your Art postcard swap created by Kat Sloma of Kat Eye Studio. Participants send five postcards of their own work to Kat, along with postage and self-addressed labels. She uses her mad engineering skills to sort all the cards so that everyone gets five different ones back, sticks on labels and stamps, and sends them out into the world.

This is the card I created for this year’s swap:

Dawn Song Faith is the bird that feels the light  when the dawn is still dark.  ~ Rabindranath Tagore

Dawn Song
“Faith is the bird that feels the light
when the dawn is still dark.”
~ Rabindranath Tagore

And here are the cards I received:

Laguna Beach Lifeguard by Debra Medina debmedina.blogspot.com

Laguna Beach Lifeguard Tower from Debra Medina in California

Though we don’t live all that far apart, lucky Deb lives by the BEACH! Her blog is called Love the Little Things in Life.

"If a child is to keep alive his inborn sense of wonder, he needs the companionship of a tleast one adult who can share it, rediscovering with him the joy, excitement, and mystery of the world we live in." ~ Rachel Carson by Lynne Raspet facebook.com/twopoppies

“If a child is to keep alive his inborn sense of wonder, he needs the companionship of at least one adult who can share it, rediscovering with him the joy, excitement, and mystery of the world we live in.” ~ Rachel Carson
from Lynne Raspet in Georgia

Lynne’s photographs are magical. You can see more of them on her Two Poppies Facebook page. Though my childhood environment was nothing like this, this image still brings back so many memories of summer days spent exploring the world around me in blissful solitude.

By Marl1een at chaoticperfectionist.wordpress.com She commented, "Every girl deserves a LBD and some fine, white lace." I agree!

Lovely lace from Marl1een in Antwerp, Belgium

This image doesn’t do justice to the delicate detail of the lace and the card itself. I agree with Marl1een’s comment on the back of the card that “Every girl deserves a LBD and some fine, white lace.” There’s more of her beautiful photographic artwork on her blog, Chaotic Perfectionist.

"The sea, once it casts its spell, holds me in its net of wonder forever."  ~ Jacques Yves Cousteau By Robin Scanlon of Eye of the Islands Photography, Inc. - www.eyeoftheislands.com

“The sea, once it casts its spell, holds me in its net of wonder forever.”  ~ Jacques Yves Cousteau
from Robin Scanlon in Hawaii

I’m a girl with the soul of a mermaid and I live in the desert. Is it any wonder that this card and quotation made my heart sing? Robin’s website is Eye of the Islands Photography.

"Keep the Change" a somewhat dark concept shoot about our daily struggle with money. By Eva Creel www.facebook.com/evacreelphotography

Keep the Change, a somewhat dark concept shoot about our daily struggle with money.”
from Eva Creel in Grovetown, Georgia

Another water picture! Eva’s photography runs the gamut from sharp social commentary to just plain beautiful. (I couldn’t help noticing that she is as stunning in front of the camera as behind it.) She’s on Facebook at Eva Creel Photography.

"Adorned and Alone" by Kat Sloma

“Adorned and Alone” by Kat Sloma

Last but not least, this lone tree in beautiful blues, from our own Kat, who does the amazing work it takes to pull this all together.

Of course, the real fun of the swap is hurrying to the mailbox to see what treasure will show up next. Receiving real mail — pieces of art and inspirational words from around the world — is so much nicer than the usual bills and advertising flyers.

All the cards I received this year were signed, so I was able to contact each artist via email, blog, or Facebook. Many thanks again to each of my artists for their beautiful postcards, and to Kat for making this happen. I haven’t yet heard where any of my cards ended up, so I’m hoping to spot some of them on our blog hop. Come on along — there’s some good stuff out there!




46 thoughts on “Liberated Again!

  1. Fabulous set. Loving see all this amazing artwork!

  2. Isn’t this fun! I enjoyed seeing what was in the mail box each day and now I’m enjoying the hop to see what was in yours! Fun!

  3. So many amazing cards. The photo of the lace is blowing me away!

  4. Wonderful post…Love your ‘Dawn song’ postcard…and what wonderful art you got in return!.. I’m enjoying hopping around all the blogs to see what lovelies everyone else got in their mail 🙂

  5. This sounds like so much fun lee, and bot the card you sent, and the cards you received are beautiful.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. What strikes me is how the tones and colours of the cards you received all work so well together. The chance of that happening? I don’t know the odds but I think it’s quite amazing!

  7. Wow, you received such variety in your cards! And I love the one you sent out. Perfect quote!

  8. I am struck by the number of water images you received, Lee! Wow! These are all so peaceful and contemplative. A beautiful collection. I hope you find where yours landed, in the hop this weekend! Thank you for participating again this year!!

  9. YOUR RECEIVED SOME IMPACTFUL ART!

  10. All works I’m sure you will treasure, excellent post.

  11. Wow, wow, wow! I used to exchange an annual “top of the heap” photograph with an engineer/photographer I had taken a summer photo workshop with. The anticipation when approaching that mailbox was in the stratosphere and I was never disappointed. What beautiful gifts in words and images you received. Wherever your postcards arrived, the recipients must be equally thrilled! The photo and quote are stunning!!!!!

  12. I am amazed at each collection I see through the blog hop of the postcards received. Beautiful and thought provoking images! I also love the postcard you send out… that bird and tree are wonderful!

  13. Beautiful card sent, and lovely ones received. I hope you find a couple of yours today as you hop along. Thanks for the lovely comment on my blog!

  14. oh how lucky you are, I stumbled on the wonderous site of Kat Eye Studio, reading about the postcard exchange what a truly, audacious project, I take my hat of to her…what lovely lovely art work…

  15. Amazing images here. You photographers are fabulous.

  16. The postcards you received are beautiful and each unique. I’m looking for my postcards as well and hope to find them here in the Blog Hop! See you next time!

  17. This has been such good fun – I’m quite sad to see it end. You’ve received beautiful cards – the quality never fails to amaze me.

  18. I enjoyed your blog post! So nice to visit everyone and see more art in action!

  19. love, love, love – what a great post and fab art xx

  20. As appealing as each of these is, pride of place (for me at least) goes to the child-and-water scene. There’s a lot there to contemplate…

  21. These are all so beautiful, and what a fabulous idea! I love the Tagore quote with your gorgeous photo.

  22. Wonderful cards — both sent and received! How serendipitous that water-themed cards found their way to you! I, too, live near a coast… possibly not too far from you!

  23. You’ve created a beautiful postcards for this year’s swap. And in return you received some very special ones. I enjoyed the swap as well.

  24. Wonderful, I love seeing all of our creative efforts

  25. Your postcard makes me think of the mourning dove that lives somewhere in my yard and coos it’s song each morning. I’ve always loved the sound of that song.

  26. What a wonderful bunch of cards you received. I’m enjoying hopping around seeing so many different cards.

  27. The cards are all beautiful. I really enjoyed this and look forward to next year…

  28. The photography in the postcards you received is so amazing! Thank you for sharing them with us.

  29. Way cool! What a lot of fun to get all those! Beautiful work, everyone. 🙂

  30. I love your bird photo and quote, I’m partial to birds. And the ones you received are awesome. Every postcard I’ve seen has been wonderful!

  31. Your card is really lovely – as are those you received 🙂 Wasn’t it a fun project?!

  32. What a great collection of cards you received!

  33. I love your photography! the picture you sent out is so pretty. I love all the cards you received, and like you, love the water ones the most.

  34. Great selection of posties! I really love the Laguna Beach Lifeguard one 🙂

  35. Oh wow, I love the postcard you sent out AND all of the postcards you received! What a great swap this was 🙂

  36. These are all wonderful! I am in awe of the talent out there. What a great way to connect with other artists around the world. I am amazed at the diversity in the artful postcards both given and received.

  37. Beautiful art received and sent out into the world!! Thank you for sharing your creativity and talent! Cheers! Sheila

  38. beautiful post and collection of cards. Love this swap!

  39. What gorgeous cards you received. I love the underwater shot and the boy with the light behind him is ahhhmazing!

  40. Your work is just incredible… so happy to have found you through the blog… you have a wonderful eye… and thanks so much for your lovely comments on my work… you bright a smile to my face….xx

  41. What a beautiful collection of artwork you received. It was a joy seeing it displayed here.

  42. Your card is beautiful! And so are the ones you received. This was my first time in the swap and I loved it! Can’t wait for next year!

  43. I love your card. Really beautiful. You received a great collection as well. I signed up for your blog… look forward to keeping in touch.

  44. This looks like a fabulous idea. The cards you received were all fantastic. My favourite is Keep the Change. I also love your Dawn Song.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

