Sea Blue Lens

Peeping Tom

21 Comments

This afternoon my brother-in-law knocked on my door, stepped inside, and quietly told me that someone was spying on me. He pointed to the kitchen window.

DSC_1736The Spy Who Eyed Me

 

DSC_1738Caught In the Act

Some spy. His technique is not very subtle, and he doesn’t blend in well at all. Whoever he works for should probably have sent a Chameleon instead.

Isn’t he a beauty, though? He’s a big one — about 14 inches nose to tail. He wasn’t bothered a bit by having his picture taken. I think he’s a Southern Alligator Lizard, and the long slender tail makes me think it’s a male. We have a lot of smaller ones around the yard, but this is the first one of this size that I’ve seen. I love my wild neighbors, even if they do invade my privacy now and then!

21 thoughts on “Peeping Tom

  1. Ha! Should have sent a chameleon, indeed!

  2. WOW! That is some long tail! There was one today outside our front door, on the column. Watching the world upside down. I watched him for a bit, doing push ups. Then he jumped from the column to the house. Both are stucco. It was funny to see him leap. Wish I had the camera…

  3. Lol, that is adorable! Do you think he might be related to Chuck’s “peeing Tom” snake from yesterday? Maybe it’s a conspiracy! 🙂

  4. He is so good at spying that I didn’t even see him in your first photo! Had to look again. How fun! Maybe you should draw the curtains next time….

  5. He’s amazing! Love his long tail & it doesn’t look easy the way he’s balance there. What great creatures you have in your back yard!

  6. So cute! He must have been there a while to let you photograph him from both sides of the window, Lee!

  7. He surely is one handsome fella!

  8. OMG!! I love seeing your critter photos, but I think I’m glad Maine is too cold of a climate for them. I especially love the contrast of color and texture in the “full length” portrait…

  9. Wow he is a big one! Maybe he is new the spying profession and didn’t think of blending in more…You have quite the menagerie around your house!

  10. Yikes!

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Jun 6, 2013, at 12:21 AM, Sea Blue Lens wrote:

    > >

  11. In a week, I am coming to Florida for a month. Is this what I have to look forward to?

  12. I thought it was a snake from the first photo. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a lizard with such a lo-o-o-n-g tail! Not a lot of lizards, long tails or otherwise, here in Rhode Island! Great photos!

  13. You have a much higher tolerance level for creepy-crawlies than I would have. Had to smile at the Chameleon reference. I’m afraid if I knew such critters waited outside my door, I would spend much of my time inside. I have to admit – he was a willing photographic subject.

  14. Love that first shot with the little face peeking in ! Great images, and love the texture on that yellow wall. Happy weekend. 🙂

  15. That is a beautiful lizard you have captured. It such an amazingly long tail! You captured some very nice pictures.

  16. That’s a big one! I love these guys, too. Last year I had my little lizard companion in my yard, but this year unfortunately none has turned up so far. I’m still hoping.

  17. He certainly is a big fellow! They creep me out a little. I think it’s because the ones around here dark so quickly and startle me!! That tail is really awesome!!

  18. Cute little guy 🙂

  19. Recalling your post about your hot, dry weather…do you think he might have been taking advantage of the tiny bit of shade there appears to be? As for his size…14″–yikes!…I’m grateful our Florida versions are much smaller.

  20. What a “catch” of a photo…didn’t move his little tail an teensy bit! We have geckos in our yard and sometimes house..they can be a bit skittish and wow are they hard to capture to put back outside….but they are SMALL I don’t know that I would tackle moving an alligator lizard outside! You have now made a “star” out of Mr. AL. Very fun post.

  21. I just love this! Great captures on both sides of the window!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

