Sea Blue Lens

Summer’s End

16 Comments

IMG_0936-2evening starEvening Star (August 8)

Wow, August is almost over and didn’t it go by fast?! Though I haven’t been posting, I have been taking photos.

I have to admit that I’m not a particularly disciplined person. I don’t like schedules and routines, particularly self-imposed ones. But I felt that I needed something to prod me out of my lethargy, so I set myself a little challenge to take at least one photo every day during the month of August.  To make it as easy as possible, I decided to use my iPhone for my pics of the day, simply because I knew I would always have it with me. Also, the photos automatically stream themselves to my computer every time I plug in the phone to charge. No excuses, right?

I did better than I expected. I captured an image every day, even if some of them were not particularly inspired. A couple of times I forgot until almost the last minute, and it shows. But most surprising to me, I enjoyed it very much. Here’s a sampling:

IMG_0903 onion seedGoing to Seed (August 3)

This is what happens when you don’t eat your vegetables.

IMG_0914 Thai iced teaRefreshing (August 5)

Thai iced tea, enjoyed at lunch during a shopping outing with my sister. It’s a special treat, one of my favorite drinks.

IMG_0930 Sky treeSkeleton (August 7)

This small eucalyptus died a couple of years ago, but the birds love to perch there. It’s far enough away from the house that even if it came down in a storm, it couldn’t hurt anything.

IMG_0970 kittyGarden Kitty (August 11)

I met this lovely and friendly tortoiseshell cat at a nursery my sister and I visited.

IMG_0996 thunderheadThunderhead (August 18)

Lots of interesting skies this month!

IMG_1044 rainFlash Flood Watch (August 26)

That wall of rain arrived about five minutes after I took this photo. It rained for about 20 minutes and did flood some small local roads, though there wasn’t any serious damage. The temperature dropped by 20 degrees in those 20 minutes and after the rain the damp ground and air smelled delicious. I wish I could have captured that scent to share with you.

IMG_1049 Ave VDriving Home (August 28)

This is the “avenue” I live on. This was taken a couple of days after the rain and there’s been some traffic, but you can still see where the water ran down and across the road.

IMG_1011 sunset gazeboSunset Clouds Over Moonrise Mountain (August 20)

Moonrise Mountain is my own name for this hill, for just the reason you might guess: from the perspective of our property, the moon comes up right over it. Therefore we’re looking eastward in this photo. I love it when the clouds pile up there and are illuminated by the sun setting on the opposite horizon. It doesn’t happen often, but it’s pretty spectacular when it does.

I know it wasn’t a big goal, but I’m proud of myself for setting it and doing it. Now I’m committing myself to the big one, a 365, starting September 1. I still don’t know if I can do it, but at least I’ve become willing to try. And that’s a good thing.

I’ve uploaded my entire August set to Flickr, so if you’d like to see the rest, you can go here to check it out.

16 thoughts on “Summer’s End

  1. Wow, these are fantastic! There’s no way I could pick a favorite! Congrats on finishing your month and looking forward to your 365!

  2. I do enjoy your photos, Leon. Keep them coming. I’ll be having risky back surgery on Sept 12, so say a little prayer for me. (Repairing my lumbar vertebrae and fusing a section to try and straighten my curvature.) I’ll especially enjoy your pictures in the rehab center. Love you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Nina, I’m so sorry to hear about your upcoming surgery. You know I will be praying! And I’ll be sure to keep posting some new stuff, just for you. I’ll email you…we need to catch up.
      Love, León

  3. Good for you on deciding to do a 365 – good luck. Congratulations on your picture a day in August. I love your cloud pictures – especially the wall of rain coming in, it looks like a funnel cloud – and the Thunderhead (Aug 18). Beautiful sunsets you get over those hills, beautiful country you live in!
    The summer has gone fast and I’ve missed you. I’m not good about blogging on a regular basis, it’s feast or famine over at my blog…
    Have a wonderful Labor Day weekend…

  4. I really understand that discipline thing you speak of…being the same way myself.

    The best part of following blogs is to “see” other parts of the world, to see your view of the sky, and see where the rain has left it’s print in the soil.

    It will be fun to share the 365 project with you!

  5. Coolness! So are you going to POST one every day, she asked wickedly? 😉

  6. Good for you to be getting some practice in before the start of the big one. I too have been practicing, since the beginning of July. I am glad I won’t be the only iPhone shooter.

  7. You should be proud – of yourself for taking on and completing the challenge and for capturing such lovely images. Your views are so different from my own and I love seeing what you see. Your collection of amazing skies is quite stunning. I think my favorite is Skeleton – those bare branches, lit with golden light, against that blue sky – a natural abstract. I look forward to seeing the results of your 365. My advice – even if you miss a day, just keep going – perfection is vastly over-rated – a concept I have to remind myself of daily..

  8. Leon, are you using Cloud to automatically stream your photos from your iPhone to your computer?

    Sent from my iPad

  9. Yay for you. See, it was just a training period for the real deal. : )
    I love that down the avenue shot-with the clouds at the end of the leading line and the one where flash flood was coming. Even with that you aren’t getting the right kind of rain for your soul.
    I think you’re getting amazing results with your iphone. When you move back here you’re going to have to show me how to use mine. Me no like it (yet).

  10. These are all terrific, but my faves are the drying flower and the iced tea. And the deep blue of the sky there is just stunning.

    BTW, good luck with the 365. I’ll be keeping an eye out for you on Flickr.

  11. I know this is long time ago, but these photos are gorgeous. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

