Sea Blue Lens

Photo-Heart Connection: September 2013

36 Comments

DSC_2483-2Edge of the World

It’s funny how often my Photo-Heart Connection image turns out to be one that I took at the very beginning of the month. I just finished the first month of my 365 project, so I took a lot of photographs this month, and there were quite a few that I liked a lot. But when I reviewed the month, this image, taken September 1, was the one that had the most meaning for me.

That’s me sitting there — you probably knew that already — perched on the edge of the driveway, posed in front of the view that I see from my front window every day. It’s beautiful, isn’t it? The layered mountains with their ever-changing light and shadow, the wide-open sky, the rural character of the neighborhood, the horses down below peacefully enjoying their breakfast.

My mind also fills in all the things you can’t see here: the mountains that wrap the rest of the way around us, the birds, the bunnies, even the lizards and snakes and coyotes, oh my! Then there’s the cottage, perfect for my needs, everything I could desire. A charming small community. My sister and brother-in-law, their friends and extended family, all the kindest, most generous people you could imagine.

“Okay, so where’s she going with this?” you may be wondering. I’ve been asking myself that question for months. The answer is, I’m leaving. Moving back to Maine.

It wasn’t an easy decision (understatement of the decade) and I still ask myself sometimes if I’m crazy.

There is so much that is good here, so much that is beautiful, and I’m more grateful than I can say to have been able to explore and share it for the past year and a half. But my deepest heart is longing for rain, for trees, ferns, moss, and most of all, the sea. I fell head over heels in love with Maine the first time I set foot there. It somehow felt like home, like “me,” in a way no other place ever had. For twelve years it was home, and it’s calling me back now.

I had to come here, to try this, to know if it was right for me. I’ve learned a lot. I love this place, and I know I want to come here again — to visit. But I also know I have to go back, to where I’ve learned I need to be. There’s a lot of work to do to make it happen, and a lot of uncertainty at the other end. I’ll be leaving here the first week in November, returning to Maine just in time for winter.

I probably am a little crazy after all.

And that’s my Photo-Heart Connection for September. You can click HERE for this month’s linkup at Kat Eye Studio. Thanks to Kat for hosting this monthly practice and linkup!

36 thoughts on “Photo-Heart Connection: September 2013

  1. Oh my goodness! What an incredible image. Simply spectacular view and amazing self-portrait! But, also, the surprise at the end. I didn’t see that coming. Such a big decision. Gutsy. Being true to ourselves sometimes calls on us to make big moves…literally and figuratively! Congratulations. I will miss these western images. But, like you, I look forward to the sea…the sea through your viewfinder!

  2. Wow! what a striking image – and what a huge decision you have made. I’m with Juli – gutsy is the right word to describe this change of coasts. But I so admire your decision – both to try out California and then to determine that your heart is sending you back to your true home in Maine and not to shy away from the uncertainties of making that move. To have the strength to follow your heart, all the way back to where you started. Bravo for you! Your courage is an inspiration.

  3. I am so proud of you. You are following your heart and that is awesome! Can’t wait to see what Maine has in store for you. Big move but your heart will be happy 🙂

  4. My first response, of course, was to your picture! Wow! Beautiful scenery, what beauty to see each day….But your composition is AWESOME! Then I read your post. Wow! It’s been a year-and-a-half already. It’s good that you had this chance to check it out, but I can understand your desire to go back to Maine. I’ve never been there – it’s on my bucket list…Good luck with your move and transition. I look forward to watching your journey unfold…Good luck!

  5. Wonderful image. This is a great decision, I feel amazed, but you´re following your heart and this is fantastic. You´re brave! Thanks for sharing this beautiful photo-heart connection, it´s inspiring

  6. Beautiful country. I can see how leaving would be a difficult decision. I lived for a time in Boulder, Colorado and loved it. I had many wonderful friends there, but in the end, I had to follow my heart, and my heart brought me back east. I haven’t regretted it at all.

    Your lovely daughter must be awfully happy with your decision.

  7. What a beautiful image this is, Lee, and such a perfect Photo Heart Connection.

  8. OK…gorgeous picture yah, yah, yah, but I’m going selfish on this one. I’m so glad you’re coming back to Maine. Hoo-rah. Can’t wait to see those feet on the east coast again. Can’t wait to take a photo walk and make sneaky pics of you when you’re not looking, can’t wait to watch you order a blueberry pancake at breakfast.
    Decisions are difficult-congrats for making one. You’re doing way better than me in that department.
    See you in 6 weeks (I’ll give you one week to get unpacked.).

  9. Wow, you really surprised me!! This is a major decision, and I’m sure it took a lot of thought, and courage. Congrats on realizing where you true home is — sometimes it takes experimentation. Since my big move, I feel like I got a new life. I always wanted to be near water and now I am. Every day I am grateful for my new home. It sounds like Susan is very excited to have you back!

  10. Wow! I know how happy you have been to be back where you have started, I am pleasantly stunned!! There is an ancient Celtic legend about being drawn to the clay in the soil that is our spiritual center ~ that’s what drew me to Maine and will keep me here. It is where I am truly centered and where I feel like I truly belong despite being dazzled by other geographic areas. Welcome home Leon. I hope you settle back in southern Maine. When you do, that photo should be enlarged and put over the mantel.

  11. I’m smiling here, thinking of the photo walks that you and Susan will get to take. I’ll be thinking of you in the coming weeks and all the moving and unpacking. Blessings to you as you enter this new chapter in your journey!

  12. Beautiful shot, Lee. And I know that Jennifer will be very happy to have you back.

  13. Gorgeous photo – but I’m with your as to the moss, rain, green. We tried the southern California desert for three years – but after a while, saying, we are going to stop at “the tree” on the way to Los Angeles – we knew that we needed trees and rain and softness to the landscape. While the desert has a lot to recommend it, it is not for us, as it is for others. One of my favorite blogs to read is one I stumbled upon, written by a man who is in love with the desert – and I’m in love with his photos and sense of beauty – but I like it this way – visiting his blog and being wowed by the photos and living in the Pacific Northwest with lots of rain and trees and moss and green and the ocean right here.. Good luck on your new adventure – it has to be good if you feel so strongly about it.

  14. I can so relate to this . . . I used to live in Connecticut. Since then I’ve lived in Virginia and now Ohio but I so miss the richness of fall on the East Coast and the big thing for me . . . the sea. When my husband retires (a while yet) we are thinking of moving back to the East Coast. I hope your move goes smoothly and that the Maine winter is kind to you.

  15. This New England gal can sure relate…I lived in Paris for 12 years…and would choose this neck of the woods for sure. We’re outside of Boston, but adore our weekend jaunts into Maine and NH! Moving is never easy, but heading ‘home’ makes it so worth it! Love this shot – and best of luck over these next weeks! {visiting from PHC}

  16. I’m not surprised at your decision…your pre-California images celebrated the sea-dampened nature of Maine, so the aridness of the desert was a huge contrast (and probably an emotional and photographic shock for you). Still you were brave enough to chance a new environment and now, braver still, you’re following your heart to the place it calls home. I wish you well during this transition and look forward to what comes next for you.

  17. Wow, what a big decision- love your photo of the mountains, so beautiful, but I can understand your yearning for the sea. Good luck with all the practicalities of a huge move.

  18. What a beautiful place! But it really sounds like Maine is calling you. How lucky you are to have the experience of living in two wonderful places like these.

  19. What? You’re coming back? That’s awesome!! Now I have someone to girl-shop with again!!

    Wait – I still get to keep your car, though, right?? 😛

  20. A hard but heartfelt decision, I can tell. In this picture, you are there but looking elsewhere, it seems to show the feelings you’ve expressed so beautifully in your words. I’m glad you have come to this choice that feels right to you. You aren’t crazy, you are true to yourself. I can’t wait to see Maine anew as you return to the place your heart truly calls home. Thank you for sharing in the Photo-Heart Connection. And I’m sad we didn’t get to meet up while you were on this side of the continent. I’ll just have to get to Maine sometime!

  21. wonderful capture! Follow your heart!

  22. I understand–I’d have a hard time leaving the seasons and the lush green of Wisconsin (I am very comfortable in Scotland, though!) May it be a wonderful homecoming for you. –Michele at Sweet Leaf

  23. Lovely view, hard to leave, I’m sure, but the call of the sea is an ancient one.

  24. A beautiful post and PHC, yes, follow your heart, it is only then that you will be happy.

  25. Breathtaking beauty there in California. Wonderful photo! I congratulate you on this decision and wish you well. I’ll look forward to photos from Maine.

  26. I don’t think you’re crazy at all – on the contrary! You followed your heart when you came to California and now you’re following your heart again. After all, Southern California is so different from Maine (which I love, by the way). I wish you all the best for your move and re-settling in Maine. How well do I understand that you miss the sea.

  27. Hello again! We would love to post the picture at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

  28. It’s posted now. Thanks as always, we really appreciate it! And be sure to send us a picture from Maine! 🙂

  29. Oh, I just saw this! Sorry to hear it! I was hoping we might share some photoadventures. Hope you continue to blog your photos.

    • I hoped that too! But I will be coming back for long visits, so maybe we can one day. And I will still be blogging. By the way, I got a lovely letter yesterday telling me that three of my photos were accepted for the calendar! I could hardly believe it. One of them is even going to be on the cover. I’m beyond thrilled!

      • Oh, that’s great!! I have two photos in the calendar myself! I knew you’d get in if you had time to submit. Looking so forward to having it on my wall.

        I’d love it if you’d let me know when you visit. I’ll continue to follow your blog and get to know Maine better, I’m sure.

      • That’s wonderful! I’ll be looking forward to having you on my wall, too. I will keep in touch.

  30. Wow you’re heading back…I’m sure it was an extremely difficult decision. But when a place tugs at your heart…you have to follow. All the best to you Lee…and I look forward to your photos of my favorite place in the world.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

