Sea Blue Lens

Farewell and Hail

20 Comments

Out with the old and in with the new. Time to wrap up 2014 and look forward to 2015. I know, I know. That was so two weeks ago. I’m still catching up.

Best of 2014

BeStill2014FavesBeing Still : 2014

Trying to pick some favorites from the still life photos I took last year was more difficult than I thought it would be. Not because I didn’t like them — just the opposite. I liked so many of them so much that it was difficult to choose . . . like trying to pick your favorite child.

So I quick-collected a couple dozen of them in Lightroom and tried to organize them in some sensible way. I noted a number of themes: simplicity, soft colors, garden flowers, bits of nature, favorite antiques, everyday objects, food and drink. And light. It’s always about the light.

The images in the mosaic above are not necessarily “the best” or even my true favorites, but they are representative. I’m developing an appreciation for the genre. I love the way it helps me exercise my creativity and see my same ol’ stuff in new ways. And it’s a wonderful way to practice photography when below zero temperatures and wind chills make going outside an unappealing prospect.

A Fresh Start

New BeginningBeginning Again

2015 marks the fourth year that I’ve kept this little five-year journal. During that time, I’ve missed only an occasional day here and there. This is an accomplishment of major proportions for me. There is little written here that’s deep or profound, but it has been consistent, and that makes me very happy.

As I head into this new year, the word I’ve chosen to guide and inspire me — yes, and to prod myself with — is Complete. It’s time to finish those things I’m always complaining about needing or wanting to do. It’s time to fulfill commitments I make to myself. It’s time to realize that some things in my life have already been completed as much as they ever will be, and to let them go.

My little journal reminds me that I can do it, once I set my mind to it. It lies on the nightstand, waiting for me to write a brief summary of my day before I go to bed. And I do it, no matter how tired I am and how much I want to let it go just this once. If I can complete that small task, then I can complete bigger ones, one step at a time.

Here’s to getting things done, and getting the most out of them while doing it.

20 thoughts on “Farewell and Hail

  1. You chose some lovely images and I enjoy seeing how you’ve used some of your things in these still…which is often more satisfying after we look at them later. What a nice word for your 2015…complete! I like it, and your cup of tea and diary!

  2. I am so happy to see this! I am just starting Be Still and am excited. I don’t have lightroom but may have to breakdown one of these days. I am also keeping my eyes open for little props.. Your work is very pretty and I will go back to examine each image to get some inspiration. Happy 2015!

  3. Love your choices for Being Still. The light is delicious! If I had to create a simple still life of you, it would look like Beginning Again. You are moving at the pace you were meant to move. Forgive yourself and go forward into 2015!

  4. beautiful light in all your stills -so pretty! And great word… here’s to getting things done!

  5. I love your still lifes, Leon. I also love the idea of a five-year journal with a thought for the day. Here’s to a fabulous, creative 2015!

  6. I just signed up for Kim Klassens “Be Still” course. Can’t wait to start. Love your work.

  7. Congratulations on your journaling, Leon! That is a wonderful accomplishment. Your montage is lovely — it has a consistency of style and subject which is very harmonious. And complete is a wonderful word. I will remember it for a possible selection for me in 2016.

  8. Gorgeous still life collection, I’ve loved seeing how you’ve developed through these this last year. Great word for 2015. Happy weekend. 🙂

  9. A beautiful selection and your diary and cuppa is charming…

  10. Your still life images are beautiful and yes, they are full of gorgeous light! I love all the bottles in the first one! I may have to gather some bottles and do something similar! Love the pen you use for your journal!

  11. I love your still life collage – and all the bits and pieces of your life that you have collected in such beautiful ways. I definitely envy you the opportunity to stay indoors on days when the weather outside is “frightful”. As for your word for 2015, I am a “to-do” list person – there is such internal satisfaction in completing an item so I hope that this word will bring you much joy this year. But as you so wisely recognize, there is also a time for letting go – knowing when something is complete enough and moving on.

  12. Beautiful pictures hope you have a wonderful 2015

  13. What a beautiful choice of images, Lee, and I so love the way you’ve presented them here.
    What a great choice for a word, for 2015. Lots of possibilities with this one.
    Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!

  14. I love your still lifes. It seems like I am always trying to catch-up! Good for you with your journalling and keeping up this blog. It was hard for me to start over after almost four years at my blog…Life moves forward and I look forward to watching your journey unfold. Happy New Year!

  15. Wonderful post! My favorite line is “It’s time to realize that some things in my life have already been completed as much as they ever will be, and to let them go.” Perfect!

  16. Beautiful selection from your 2014 images, always fun to look back and see what you accomplished. I so love that pen in your Beginnings image.

  17. I love the idea of the daily journal. But I’m bad at keeping them. Generally, I write snatches of things in notebooks that end up getting buried and forgotten somewhere. You’ve inspired me, though. I think I will try to write just one thought, one line, in a journal each night before I go to sleep. I like your idea that if you complete that one little thing, bigger things become easier to tackle.

    Thank you!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

