Sea Blue Lens

When Life Gives You Lemons

31 Comments

Our theme for this week’s Be Still lesson was citrus with a side of story-telling and some height. The “story” was pretty easy — I had an idea right away. The hardest part was acquiring one special prop needed; that required two trips to the store because they didn’t have what I wanted the first time.

I did this shoot during our last snowstorm, which I spent at my daughter’s house. I packed up a basket of props to take with me, but I didn’t have anything available to add much height variation to my setup.

These are the two images I liked best:

DSC_8223If Life Gives You Lemons . . .

DSC_8239-2. . . Eat Pie!

31 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Lemons

  1. Mmm. Delicious. Now I’m kind of hoping that life gives me a bowl of cherries. 🙂

  2. I really like both images, but the bottom one wins my heart because of the touches of blue with the yellows.

  3. That’s it Leon, pick a snow day when I am truly forced to “be still” and wave pictures of lemon meringue pie in front of my face! Love the pictures! As opposed to the other Carol, I am drawn to the first due to the oranges with the lemons off to the side. Thank you, on a day like today, for not choosing to make lemon snow cones!

  4. Lovely! I love the light and colors in the first image.

  5. Both are lovely images but I’m drawn to the first one. I like contrast of the darker bowl of fruit in the background.

  6. Beautiful! And, I couldn’t agree more…Eat Pie! 🙂

  7. Oh, my, I love lemon meringue pie! And I love your pie images, the second one a little more because of the touch of blue with the yellow….so french. I haven’t made a pie in several years, as no one in the family eats sweets anymore except me…..hmmm.

  8. I lovely post…it all looks so delicious….love lemon pie.

  9. Yum . . . I like the added blue/white butterfly linen with the Lemon Meringue . . . perfect addition, touch!

  10. Lovely, lovely, lovely! AND, delicious looking! My favorite is the second one with the dreamy curtains and the butterfly linen!

  11. I love lemon flavoring and lemonade, but that pie looks yummy.

  12. I haven’t had lemon meringue pie in years and I think that just may have to change!

  13. Lemon Meringue is my husband’s favorite. Your photos are delicious!

  14. I was too busy looking at the pie in both photos. If I had to choose one photo over the other, it would be the first because the piece of pie looks bigger. (Have I mentioned how much I like lemon pie?)

  15. That looks gorgeous Leon I love the taste of lemon meringue lemon curd is another favourite too.

  16. Luscious, lemony goodness! And I like your message – let’s all eat pie.

  17. I love them both, Leon. I hope you ate the pie after shooting it! How could you resist?

  18. Oh gosh Leon I shouldn’t have looked, I love lemon pie, these images just inspire me to want to get in the kitchen.

  19. Nice little story – and beautiful pictures. Furthermore I couldn’t agree more with you. I might have to get myself a lemon pie…

  20. Lovely photos, And That pie looks delicious x

  21. These are gorgeous. I love the first one especially. I would so love to stop by for some pie with you. Happy weekend. 🙂

  22. Gorgeous captures! I love the lighting and the pie looks so delish!

  23. Beautiful! I love lemons and will take them whenever I can get them 🙂

  24. Lee, these photographs are wonderful, and that pie looks absolutely yummy!

  25. That makes my mouth water. Love the first one.

  26. Love the light lemon yellow, and the soft white…I can imagine the snow reflecting this beautiful light through the window. Lemon graham cracker pie is one of my favorites.

  27. Oh, I LOVE your philosophy! Any excuse I can get for pie is a good one. I’m catching up on my blog reading, sort of coming out of my “fog” and i find your photos and writing inspiring. Sending you hugs and love….

  28. These are both beautiful, Lee. I especially like the first one, probably because of the bright contrast between the pie & the fruit and the otherwise monochrome background of the photo.

    How can it be more than two weeks since you stopped by my blog?? I’m finding genealogical blogging to be very time consuming, probably because I don’t have as much information and background with my ancestors as I should to do these profiles–thus, I am often researching/interviewing at the same time as I’m trying to write. Still, I am enjoying it and learning some interesting things about our family.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

