Sea Blue Lens

Be Still Weeks 40 and 41: Make and Take

23 Comments

It’s another Be Still twofer! For week 40, we were supposed to photograph making something that we would then include in a still life that we would photograph during week 41. I swear I’m not trying to be difficult, but once again I had a hard time with this assignment. I don’t do crafts. I don’t sew anymore. I can knit but haven’t in ages. I thought of something garden related — planting a dish garden, maybe? — but it’s still winter here and there aren’t any plants available yet.

I don’t cook much, either, but it was the only thing I could think of that I could photograph while making, and then photograph again when finished. And that’s the reason the two weeks are run together here, because the perishable nature of food meant the “making” project had to be followed immediately by the final still life “taking” project.

In honor of the first day of spring, and also to cheer myself up because we have snow predicted for the second day of spring, I decided to make strawberry shortcake. That’s usually an Easter tradition in my family, but Easter is late this year and I can’t wait!

Part 1, Making

DSC_8758

DSC_8757

Part 2, Taking

DSC_8763

DSC_8775

Part 3, Partaking!

DSC_8786

DSC_8788Yum!

It’s probably not necessary to explain which part I enjoyed the most! Actually, though, I really did enjoy setting up the tabletop still lifes. That shot from overhead is my favorite of the project. I think it captures that happy, springlike mood I wanted. It really does cheer me up to look at it.

Cleaning up afterwards was no chore at all!

 

23 thoughts on “Be Still Weeks 40 and 41: Make and Take

  1. Sorry about the incorrect name. The pictures make me want to go out and buy strawberries.

  2. Yum is right and beautiful too.

  3. I LOVE these, Lee!
    The third and fourth ones are my favorites. Both are such wonderful compositions.
    Now I want strawberry shortcake too!!!
    Have a wonderful weekend, my friend. xo.

  4. Very well done, and I agree about the overhead shot. So yummy looking. I am sure you enjoyed every bite of that make and take.

  5. Leon, you have such beautiful things! In my house the strawberry carton would have been cardboard ~ in yours ceramic. The pictures are as delicious as they are elegant! All the more reason why you need to buy the Tea House! You would do it justice. I look out of my window and I see dirty gloomy snow and a snow sky and fear it will be sometime between May and July when I am able to sit on my porch with my pups and see green grass and my flower boxes again. Then, I look at your pictures and I know it’s spring! (and I’m drooling)

  6. Oh I shouldn’t have popped in here, I am just licking the page. I have been off of sweets for two months and this got to me. Those berries look just wonderful, you can tell how juicy and ripe they are from the wonderful dark color. Now that is a make and take I can understand and enjoy, oh I wish.

  7. What a yummy and delightful series! I can almost taste the wonderful sweetness of the strawberries atop the cream and shortcake. Love the “from above” shot – beautifully composed, capturing all the spring-like feelings of this lovely combination of items.

  8. Looks so delicious! Love your props and your photos… so beautiful.

  9. I love the overhead shot, too! You’re right it shouts “spring!” Your shortcake looks so delicious!

  10. I agree with you, the photo from above is my fav shot too. And….YUM!

  11. Stunning images. Brilliant color of the strawberries. Love the from above pic.

  12. Oh, my goodness — I’m just drooling! When can I come by for a taste? What a great solution to the prompt dilemma! Your food photos are stunning, really should be in a cookbook.

  13. These are lovely. Love your making shots and your ceramic strawberry punnet – the colours look gorgeous together. Beautifully done (and lovely crockery too!)

  14. What lovely photos! Love your Portmeirion!

  15. I also like the one taken from overhead. Good focus on the goodies and love how the flowers are blurred. Beautiful!

  16. Strawberries are one of my favorites so here I sit reading your post seriously thinking about going to the store to get strawberries….Your shortcake looks yummy…..

  17. Fantastic! Love the looking down photo.

  18. You did very well with the assignment. All lovely photos.

  19. Well you have my mouth watering! I just love strawberries. Such a lovely table setting as well. So inviting. Have a great weekend.

  20. You have such a talent for still life photography. You do a great job of combining things, experiences, and lesson objectives to create beautiful and meaningful shots. My favorite? the straight-on table top shop. Great job!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

