Sea Blue Lens

Summer Miscellany

18 Comments

A few random images of the summer just past, and random thoughts on the season to come….

IMG_1789From Stackpole Bridge

As I begin writing this, it is Labor Day in the United States, and for me this holiday has always marked my personal end-of-summer. Here in Maine, the three-day holiday weekends of Memorial Day near the end of May and Labor Day at the beginning of September bookend our “official” summer tourist season.

IMG_3961Summer Rain

While I’m reluctant to see summer go, I do love fall. The crowds are gone and there are a couple of months of warm sunny days and cool nights to enjoy before winter descends…and of course there are the glorious leaves to look forward to.

IMG_4436Between Cities

When I was growing up, school used to start — always — on the Tuesday after Labor Day. Though school days are (thankfully) a distant memory, September still feels like a time of new beginnings. Maybe it’s just old habit, or maybe there really is something in the air that triggers the urge to clean things out, get my “nest” in order, and embark upon self-improvement projects.

IMG_4059Johanna’s Garden

One thing I’ve been wanting to do for a long time is blog more regularly. I began this blog four years ago as a photo journal for an online photography course I was taking. Without the class to hold me accountable, and to “tell me” what to photograph and write about, I haven’t really known what its purpose was/is.  But I do like having a place to share some of my photographs (which otherwise just sit in my computer) and I enjoy writing about them. I also treasure the friendships I have with people I’ve met online here, many dating back to that first “Find Your Eye” class.

IMG_3948Summer Sky: Scarborough Marsh

Last week I pledged to one of those friends — and to myself — a commitment to publish at least one post a week during the months of September and October. After that, we’ll see! I feel that I need the structure and discipline. I also need to do something with all these photos I keep on taking, or what’s the point? I hope by the end of October to have found a purpose and direction for the blog. Perhaps it will just be my own personal photo journal, pretty much as it has been all along. Perhaps I’ll discover that I really don’t want to keep doing it at all.

IMG_4504At the Farmers Market

So…come along, if you’d like, on my journey of random exploration. Welcome!

IMG_5334Season’s End

And welcome to you, too, Beautiful Autumn!

18 thoughts on “Summer Miscellany

  1. Lovely photos – the one of the river – between cities – reminds me very much of our local town. I’m hoping for summer weather to return in September as it often does over here . However My favourite season is autumn – crisp fresh mornings with blue skies and perfect for taking photos. This is a good time of year to get back into blogging -I’m hoping yo do the same.

  2. Love the sunflowers! They are some of my favorite flowers.
    I completely understand the question of whether to blog or not. I’ve had one for awhile–I can’t even remember how long ago I started. And sometimes, I am faithful to it, and sometimes, I neglect it dreadfully. I am working on posting at least once a week, too, and perhaps more often in October. We will see.
    the fall is one of my favorite seasons because we leave the humidity of the summer behind. There are hints of fall in the air now–temperatures in the mid-eighties as opposed to the upper nineties; cooler mornings. The leaves are just beginning to turn. And there is a feeling of anticipation in the air as well.
    I’m looking forward to seeing more of your blog adventures!

  3. Love, love, love Summer Rain and Johanna’s Garden which I constantly admire when I go past her shop. I too love fall, but I’m not ready to let go of summer. September is the best summer month ~ crowds are gone, weather is usually great, beach is not crowded ~ heaven!! Then I’ll drift into fall ever so slowly. Can’t comment on the blog as I’ve been silent for quite a while. I like your challenge of once a week for two months though.

  4. Personal photo journal sounds lovely to me! Blog on! 🙂

  5. That is so ironic that you write that September feel like a time of new beginnings, I was just writing in my journal this morning that now that Labor Day has passed, it is time to get back to work. Summer is a time of fun and laziness, but I need the structure of a planned “school” day and the sense of accomplishment that I get from it. I love these bits of randomness and that one of the person in the canoe and that gorgeous blue sky – divine!!

  6. Lovely images of summer! I am looking forward to the cooler days of fall. The humidity has been horrid here this summer! I really, really, really hope you discover that you want to keep your blog. I love to visit here and see what you’ve been capturing with your camera. So many photo friends have stopped blogging and gone to Instagram which I don’t use. I’ve been a little worried about the future of blogging. I hope you continue yours. You can count on me dropping by!!

  7. There is nothing like the New England autumn! How I miss it! Here in the Bay area, we are having our “hot season”, which seems to wrong for September and October. Having been a teacher for so many years, I still feel September is the time to get more organized and work on projects. Like you, I am also trying to blog once a week for the next month or two and see what happens. I do love being in touch with friends like you.

  8. I feel the same way about Labor Day as both the end of summer and the beginning of Fall – one of my favorite times of the year. I always loved the start of the school year too. What a great time to make a commitment to regular blogging – a chance to determine what this spaces means to you. I look forward to your regular musings as well as your images. Love that golden light in the last photograph.

  9. These are beautiful images of summer – I love the sunflowers in the burlap. How neat!
    While I see Labor Day as a certain end to summer, that season still goes on for me. The beginning of September pretty much marked the end of summer for me back in Germany, but here I feel summer goes on until at least the end of September. I do love fall – it’s my favorite season, and October is the best month in the entire year. I really look forward to it – especially right now when I feel I’m melting, it is so hot here.
    While I love writing my blog, there are times when I’m just not in the mood to write, or there is too much going on. However, just like you I see it as a lovely “stage” for my photography. I just don’t always have something meaningful to say, I’m afraid.

  10. So great and beautiful shots.

    All the best, ❤

  11. Beautiful photos – particularly lovely in the light of the fact that summer is about to fade away. 🙂

  12. Funny how our perception as kids roll over into our adult life. I always think the same about start and end of summer. Except here in the desert it is the end of October before we really see the change into fall if we are lucky. I am still struggling through summer although it is a bit cooler in the mornings now.

    I find it rather funny everyone talking about not blogging, a shame really, but then again people seem to follow whatever everyone else is doing. Me, on the other hand, have never had to have anyone tell me what to blog or what I should be photographing so I am good to go with my blog. I have never liked to write so that will not be what my blog is about. I have taken my blog comments off as a personal choice. Blog comments although I love leaving them I found them distracting for me. That is where I feel like I should be photographing for others and not for me. Photography is my photo journey not someone else’s. Since I have stopped going to IG and Facebook I found I have more time with my photo journey and life itself. I have always been behind the times and that is ok I am thinking. We all do things differently, that is what makes the world interesting. I have always enjoyed your blog and hope you keep with it but if you don’t then that is your choice. Do what you love not what someone else loves.

    Love all the flowers in front of the store window. I could have spent a ton of time there. The view from the bridge is a wonderful lesson in height, gives you a feel of danger and awesomeness.

  13. Leon, this post is so real…I could have written very similar thoughts, so I completely understand all you say. This summer, when I thought about abandoning my blog, something inside me said…hold on, this is “my” space and doesn’t require a post on any certain day, or so many times a week or month. So now I just let it flow and when I get the urge, I’ll post photos, and a few words. I LOVE your blog, your photos and reading your thoughts and perceptions. Summer definitely fits within the bookends of Memorial Day and Labor Day. I find photography leads me on a journey…I like the “no agenda” approach, because it feels more natural and free flowing, whether I make a still life or take photos of outdoors, family, etc., and if I want to share on the blog, I can, or not. So I hope you will find it joyful to continue on, blogging, sharing, and connecting. Enjoy these cooler, changing season months. I love them!!

  14. Here in NY, Memorial Day and Labor Day are our summer “boundaries.”
    Although I love the fall, we had an absolutely perfect summer, and it’s hard to let go of that.
    Also, I know that when fall passes, we settle in for a VERY long winter.

    I look forward to your posts no matter how frequent or infrequent, and I’ll see you here whenever you are here! 🙂

    Have a great weekend, my friend. xo.

  15. I love a change of season (particularly winter to spring) but there is something about the change in temperature & light that makes it feel new. I agree with you about blogging- I often wonder what Im doing- I do like a place to put my photos though & it also motivates me to take more. I don’t get around to look at others as much as i use to either- its all changed a bit over the last 4 or 5 years!

  16. Beautiful images I love the pretty flowers in particular, late Summer/early Autumn blooms are so bright. I too am trying to bump start my blog I think for me it will be a mixture of thoughts, images and digital art…..

  17. Love these images and reading your thoughts. I’m just the same about blogging. Sometimes here, sometimes not but I can’t bear to just give it up and I love having this connection – especially amongst us first Find Your Eyers! So, blog whenever and I’ll still visit. I love my virtual visits over the pond. 🙂

  18. I always think of summer between Memorial Day and Labor Day. And I think of school and all the fun of new beginnings. I try hard to love fall, but my mind wanders to what is coming next, winter, my least favorite time of year. Your pictures are beautiful and highlight all that is wonderful about the season. I found you comments about blogging interesting. When I first started, I felt a bit more obligated to the kind people that seemed to stop by my blog to produce something often. Now I post a picture when I can and when I feel like it. It seems most bloggers ebb and flow like that too. It should be fun, not stressful. I do like to challenge myself to take the pictures…I hope it keeps me somewhat creative and observant. Posting happens when it happens. I have many photos to share of our new home…just not quite the time yet to think about posting them. I also need to find the cable to upload pictures with! LOL!

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

