Sea Blue Lens

Finding Focus

14 Comments

The warmer, longer days seem to have switched on a surge of energy in me, and I find myself wanting to Get Things Done. There are so many projects on my to-do list — where do I start? Also, it’s summer, and I want to have fun!

IMG_1904-2Summer Dreams

One of the problems with retirement, though it’s a delightful problem to have, is that you can have too much free time on your hands. In fact, it’s all free time. I’m a person who prefers spontaneity, who doesn’t like being regimented and scheduled. There’s always tomorrow, right? But recently I came across a line in a book I’m reading, Better Than Before by Gretchen Rubin, about establishing good habits and breaking bad ones. She wrote, “Something that can be done at any time often happens at no time.”

That line pierced me to the heart. I have always been a terrible procrastinator, and I suddenly, vividly, realized that I could easily spend the rest of my life doing, basically, nothing. Waiting until “tomorrow.” And while I hope and expect that I still have lots of tomorrows ahead of me, I don’t want to waste any of them!

IMG_0844-2Making Plans

So . . . I’ve bought a calendar/diary, the kind that shows a week at a time, that I plan to use to give my days a bit of structure and routine. I’m editing my Need-to-do list, prioritizing projects and breaking them down into steps. I’m making Want-to-do lists, too, of places to go and things to do for pleasure and adventure, of books to read, of photography classes, photo walks and projects to complete. All those things are going into the calendar.

I’ll let you know how it goes. Right now it’s time for…hm, let me check my calendar for Sunday.

Happy Feet 2Happy Feet

Oh, well. Baby steps! Enjoy the day, my friends. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Finding Focus

  1. Excellent!

  2. You are making HUGE strides forward and you know I will be checking in 🙂 It is amazing how one thing starts the process of changing things.

  3. This sounds like a wonderful plan to me, Lee.
    I just know you will have a fantastic summer ahead. xo.

  4. I don’t call that retirement behavior procrastination, I call it the “Scarlett O’Hara Syndrome,” ~ Tomorrow is Another Day is my favorite phrase so I can go with the flow according to weather, mood, etc. I like that calendar idea ~ takes me back to my Steven Covey methods I used when I was working. I’ll be anxious to see how it works in retirement.

  5. I am just the opposite I like to schedule even if I am in retirement, that is the only way I can get things done. I also love making lists. I am in the middle once again in cleaning things out of closets and drawers that I didn’t want to do when the weather was nice. Love that sweet peony and the color is wonderful.

  6. All great ideas . I also do something similar and it really helps me feel and be productive and at the same time have a great time. How is retirement? I work only 3 days a week, but that is getting rather cumbersome at times. I worry about possible being bored if I completely retire….. Hope you have a great summer

  7. That sentence by Gretchen Rubin is so darn true. Unfortunately I experience them myself more often than not and then get very mad at myself (without changing much…). The idea of the calendar is good and I hope it will work for you.
    Beautiful photos – the last one is definitely is my favorite one. ALWAYS put time for doing NOTHING in your calendar!

  8. Good plan. My husband keeps telling me to make a list of what I need to do, because I am so easily distracted by rabbit holes. Everywhere I look, there’s another one to explore.

    Love your photos!

  9. A good looking forward plan. I think a little planning is a great idea. i’m like you I love doing think on the spur of the moment but like can’t always be like that.I’m shall be popping in to see what you get up to…..

  10. I loved the post and the shots, Leon! Your classes in still lifes really paid off!

  11. Leon, is your name Beverly, or is my name Leon?? Gosh, you wrote everything I could have written…so I’m smiling and chuckling – at myself. Looks like you’ve found the right tool to get you organized and motivated…I’ll get on that too…soon! 🙂

  12. I so identify with this. Have just come to the end of my first year of retirement and we’ve had a ball, but next year I really want to feel I have achieved something positive as well as having fun.

  13. This makes me smile! I am in the very same place with so much time I put off what needs to be done because there is always tomorrow! About a month ago I did buy a pad of lined paper for listing things I really need to do; things as simple as dusting or mopping! It is always much easier to say I’ll do that tomorrow, but as the saying goes “tomorrow never comes!” I find it helpful and fulfilling to be able to cross things off my “must get done” list! I do have my priorities in order though, I put my feet up and think about what needs to be done, or rather not think about what needs to be done! Enjoy your summer!

  14. I am a procrastinator myself, and could easily spend my time doing nothing—and not liking it. Good idea to buy a diary/planner to give yourself some structure. Good luck getting yourself busy! I love those photos, by the way. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

