Sea Blue Lens

Summer’s End

15 Comments

I walked out to check the mail this afternoon, and on the way back from the mailbox I had a spur-of-the-moment impulse to explore the vacant lot where I photographed a field of dandelions last spring. It turned out that I was taking my life in my hands because the place was swarming with mosquitoes and other creepy crawlies. Nevertheless I made my way through the jungle photographing what was left of the wildflowers, and I have the battle scars to prove it. I have mosquito bites in places that I wouldn’t have thought they could reach, in one case through three layers of clothing! Next time I get such a harebrained idea I will go back to the apartment to cover myself with bug spray first.

But I enjoyed my little  expedition, anyway. Here’s a bit of what I saw.

IMG_3072It’s a Jungle Out There

IMG_3059Fireworks

IMG_3055Down But Not (Quite) Out

IMG_3065A Patch of Blue

IMG_3053Tattered Wing

IMG_3051Summer’s Last Wish

IMG_3044Ready or Not

I know it’s not officially fall yet, but — like it or not — the signs of its imminent arrival are clear to be seen. There’s still plenty of green around, but things are looking a bit battered and worn. There’s a cool freshness in the air that speaks to me of new beginnings. I’m not eager for the winter that will follow, but I plan to enjoy the pleasures of autumn to the fullest.

15 thoughts on “Summer’s End

  1. I love the titles you’ve given to each photo. Looking at these poor dwindling dears, it does indeed look like fall is imminent — at least in your neck of the woods. I would much rather a longer summer season.

  2. It makes me so sad to see this change of seasons. I just came home from a dinner with a gathering of friends at a house on the beach. We were gathered on a third level deck. I am always the one dressed in a short sleeved shirt and shorts, no jacket. Today the shorts were white ~ gotta get that wear in before Tuesday! I am always the first to temp-shame others and tell them they need to buck up and get Maine blood. I had to go to my car and get a blanket from the trunk to wrap myself in to protect me from the wind blowing off of the sea. I’m like a 5 year old throwing a tantrum ~ I don’t want to wear long pants, I don’t want to wear long sleeves, I don’t want to wear a sweater or a jacket!!!!!
    Despite my tantrums ~ love your photographs Leon!

  3. Oh gosh! Those mosquitoes!! Well, you really were brave to go out there in that overgrown field, mosquitoes eating away, and you snapping away. I really love these end of summer beauty you captured…especially the tattered butterfly. I haven’t caught one single butterfly this summer. Well that crimson leaf is really the icing on the cake – true autumn colors. If I could make one wish that would come true, I’d wish for six months of Septembers. Hope you have lots of calamine lotion…..and a nice hot cup of tea. You shared a special place in your area. Thank you!!!

  4. You were brave to fight those mosquitoes, but sometimes a photographer’s life is hard!! Love this late look at summer. Similar around here, dying but still some color.

  5. The things we do when we are on a photographic hunt ! It’s very autumnal here with rain and grey mornings. But it’s a cycle and we must enjoy every day. Love seeing what you get up to in your part of the world.

  6. I double that in that you were brave to go into the jungle of mosquitoes, I wouldn’t be that brave. Here it would be rattlesnakes and that I am really not brave. Sure looks like fall there with the dying wildflowers and the turning of the leaves in that beautiful color of red. Here we will be just starting to come alive again after the hot summer, can’t wait to plant my containers with flowers.

  7. I love the remnants of summer and wildflowers. The mosquitoes were terrible when I went out the other morning too. I LOVE that moth you captured.

  8. Oh gosh, I am so sorry about the critter bites, but you sure did get some beautiful photographs on your walk.
    Thank you for taking us along with you, my friend.
    I hope you’ve had a wonderful day. xo.

  9. Well, you are an intrepid photographer! Hope you didn’t suffer too long with the bug bites — you did get some lovely photos. The tattered wing really caught my eye, it does capture of feeling of the end of summer. I love your header photo — I would so love to walk down to that beach! Looking forward to your autumn images.

  10. Looks as if you enjoyed your walk out in the vacant lot. It is pretty amazing what all you can see when you have a camera in your hands. It almost makes everything you see in to a photo op. One of the things I so love about photography!

  11. Bravo to you for venturing out to capture the beauty despite the bugs, Leon. I love the warmth of summer and its particular vibrance but I feel I really come alive in autumn. Love seeing your part of the world through your eyes.

  12. Lovely remnants of summer- well done to brave the creepy crawlies & mosquitoes 🙂

  13. Summer is definitely coming to an end (should have long ago actually, where I am). You captured its last bit of beauty delightfully in these images. May you have a great autumn!

  14. I really adore photos of real life … real plants and flower that transport me right to your “backyard” Thank you so much!

  15. There’s something magical about the change of seasons! It’s just ticked over to Spring here.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.