Sea Blue Lens

Scene & Story: July 2017

17 Comments

Damsel Fly on Daylily

Once upon a time — well, actually, it was just a few years ago, but I love stories that start with “once upon a time,” don’t you? — anyway, once upon a time, an Older Lady (about 60-something) and a Small Boy (about 6) had a conversation while walking around her back yard.

Lady:  Look, a dragonfly.

Boy:  Aunt Lon, may I tell you something?

Lady:  Of course.

Boy:  Would you like to know an easy way to tell the difference between a dragonfly and a damselfly?

Lady:  Yes, how can you tell the difference?

Boy:  When you see one resting, if its wings are opened flat, it’s a dragonfly. If its wings are folded together over its back, it’s a damselfly.

Lady:  Oh, so this is a damselfly. That’s good to know. Thank you!

Boy:  You’re welcome.

I’ve never forgotten how to tell the difference between a dragonfly and a damselfly, and I never see one without remembering this conversation. Not so much because of what the boy said, as the way he said it. So polite, so careful and kind in sharing his knowledge to correct the lady.

Time darts and spins and flies as fast as any dragonfly. That formerly small boy will start high school this fall, and I know he will do well. I’m as proud as ever to be his honorary aunt.

* * * * *

Click here for the Scene & Story link-up at Paisley Rain Boots.

Scene & Story is a monthly collaborative creation that Sarah Huizenga of Paisley Rain Boots and I dreamt up to encourage one another in our photography and writing. We’d love to have you join us! Share a favorite photo from the previous month along with a short story or description and link up your blog or Flickr photo. 

17 thoughts on “Scene & Story: July 2017

  1. The sweetest story. Thank you for sharing ❤ And such good information. I must see more dragonflies, because their wings are usually open flat. But I am sure I will remember this forever too, because of your story.

  2. What a sweet story. If I ever come across a dragronfly I’ll know! I must admit to never having seen one. I’m sure it’s just that I don’t pay as careful attention as you do. Perhaps I can change that!

  3. I love the story, and I won’t forget the difference!

  4. I love this story and the gorgeous picture!

  5. …and the boy and the lady lived happily ever-after. Loved your story.

  6. Love the sweet story and the beautiful photo of the damselfly with its wings folded together over its back! I’ll never forget this information either!

  7. I didn’t know that! Now I have learned something – that sweet boy taught not only you but me as well. I will sure remember this. Both the story and your photo are so sweet.

  8. How sweet that the little boy shared his knowledge so kindly. He’s taught me something! I didn’t know the difference either. I’ve only seen dragonflies here, but I’ll pay more attention now and see if I can spot a damselfly!

  9. Totally love your story and this photo is great ! Love it!! Also , now I have learned something new that I can put to work out in nature

  10. What a great story. I’m impressed that the 6 yr. old boy knew the difference. I’m glad he shared that with you so you could share it with us.
    By the way I’m not far from your sister. Acton is about an hour away from us.

  11. What a beautiful story this is, Lee, and now I know the difference between a dragonfly and a damselfly!! 🙂
    Happy day to you, my friend.
    xo.

  12. What a sweet story! And tell him thanks from me too. 🙂

  13. Love the story and love the new information. I don’t think I will forget this one….

  14. It’s a lovely story, León, I can almost hear the conversation. It feels so personal… Now I will remember the distinction too.

  15. I’d left a comment sometime back on Janet’s blog, The Gardener’s Cottage; and you made a really nice reply to mine, which I only just by happenstance discovered, so I just wanted to say thank you, and I’m glad it led me to your blog.

  16. That is such a sweet story. And a great way to tell the difference. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

