Sea Blue Lens

This Is My Life

19 Comments

It’s time for the next installment in the {In the Picture} self-portrait project. This month’s theme, optional as always, was “My Life, Right Now.” The idea was to capture a memory, an emotion or mood, something that would reflect our everyday life, right now.

Since I am retired now, I suppose you could say my whole life is a vacation. Nevertheless….

What I Did On My Summer Vacation

I have been missing the easy access I had to the beach when I lived in Maine. A couple of weeks ago, my sister and I took a day trip to Ventura, where we had lunch, poked around the many second-hand shops on Main Street, visited the mission, and wrapped up the day by getting our feet all wet and sandy at the edge of the Pacific Ocean. It might have been short, but it felt like a real vacation! I took a lot of photos, but these were the only ones with me in them. That middle one is SOOiP (straight out of the iPhone) and not very flattering, but who cares? It records the fun I was having and that’s what counts, right?

Window On My World

I will always remember this summer as the beginning of a new chapter in my life. In Maine, I worked full time and lived in a rented apartment that looked out over a river. Now I live in California, my time is my own, and my view is of chapparal and mountains.

Dreams Fulfilled

And…instead of an apartment, I live in a cottage that is mine to make exactly as I want it. I’d been considering the possibility of this move for over four years before it actually happened. During that time, I’d visited and had taken photos and measurements of the cottage. I drew up a floor plan to see where my furniture would fit. I’ve spent the last three months bringing that floor plan to life, and it’s turning out just the way I imagined it. As you can see, I”m enjoying the fruits of my labors. For me, this is the picture of retired contentment.

And that’s it for another month. This was a fun theme, and I can’t wait to see what Christy has in mind for us for September. I knew this would be a year of changes for me and I wanted to record it in self portraits. Having {In the Picture} to look forward to each month has helped to give me focus and keep me going when I might otherwise have given it up, and I’m grateful for that.

You can see what everyone’s been up to this month over at Urban Muser’s {In the Picture} linky party.

19 thoughts on “This Is My Life

  1. Well LOOK at you stretched out on that couch doing nothin’ but reading a magazine. BAH, I am so jealous. Your little cottage looks beautiful. A little too much white for a woman with two pets, but I could be comfy there. I seems like it has really excellent light which is a must, and I like the photo of you standing in the window, so I get a sense of you (doing more than lounging with a magazine) in your new home. Glad you had time to stick your toes in the water. I don’t think I’ve done that this summer-maybe I should. Have a great weekend my dear friend. SOOiP…you’re funny.

    • The only pets I have are of the stuffed animal variety – that’s TOYS, not taxidermy. You definitely need to get your feet wet in the ocean. Think of it as therapy!

  2. Great photos mom, really love the “New View.

  3. Such beautiful images! Of you and your new place!

  4. So THAT’S where you’ve been. You said you were just going out for milk! You didn’t say it was in California. Busted!!!

  5. the one in front of the window is wonderful.

  6. Knowing the paths you have traveled in Maine, it was exciting to see your new view of the world through the window. Your cottage is bright and full of beautiful light… just like you!

  7. These are great, love your retired contented shot- so glad the change of pace is working for you. I also like the beach collage-looks like a lovely day.

  8. What a lovely cottage and look at that fabulous view! I love the window shot and you have made things so cosy! Finally, retirement is just living without an obligation to work… sounds good to me! Lovely portraits of your life now!

  9. Oh, yes – you seem to be taking to the retirement life just fine! Love the beauty of your cottage and the way you have made it completely yours. Love that shot of you looking out your window to your new view – beautiful – both you and the view.

  10. your cottage looks so beautiful and peaceful. i am glad you are using this project to document this year of change for you. thanks for your sweet comment on my blog, and for linking up this month!

  11. Ahhhh I just love your cottage! Beautiful shots!

  12. Wonderful post, Lee! Your cottage looks so charming — how great that you could fix it up exactly the way you wanted. I love your photo of you, looking out your window! Your collage of your outing looks great — you are making retirement look really good. Enjoy!

  13. What a beautiful view you have and great way to document the month.

  14. Your new home looks lovely–congrats on a dream realized.

  15. You’ve created a sanctuary, a place to nurture yourself. All of the shots are beautiful….and, oh, yes, the best thing to do for yourself is to stick your toes in the ocean!

  16. Love this post! Your photos show how content and happy your are!! Love the one in front of the window! Beautiful scene, beautiful you!!

  17. I certainly hope you don’t mean that it will be another month before we see a new blog post from you! I love your blog, and your wonderful photos! And, it’s nice to see you again. I miss you. Knitting Mondays just aren’t the same. – Michele

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

